Legal Tech / Compare / Enterprise copilots used in firms
Amazon Q Business and Microsoft 365 Copilot: documented facts, side by side
What Amazon Web Services and Microsoft publish on their own pages about pricing, training on customer data, retention, certifications, data residency, contract terms, accuracy evidence and incidents on the record, as of 2026-09-08. Every cell links to the page that states it. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the cell says so — the absence is the fact. This is a record, not a ranking, review or recommendation.
as of 2026-09-08 · records: Amazon Q Business · Microsoft 365 Copilot · tools.json (CC BY 4.0) · method: how tool records are compiled · audit rows: Amazon Q Business · Microsoft 365 Copilot
| Documented fact | Amazon Q BusinessAmazon Web Services · checked 2026-09-04 | Microsoft 365 CopilotMicrosoft · checked 2026-09-03 |
|---|---|---|
| Product | ||
| Category | Enterprise copilots used in firms · enterprise search, RAG, Q Apps | Enterprise copilots used in firms · office productivity, chat, agents, Graph-grounded |
| Built for | In-house legal, Mid-sized firms | Large firms, Mid-sized firms, In-house legal, Courts, Public sector |
| Model providers disclosed | Amazon Bedrock (multiple)source | Microsoft, OpenAI, Anthropicsource |
| Markets | US | US, EU, UK |
| Pricing | ||
| Price published | per-seat · Lite $3/user/month; Pro $20/user/month; index units $0.264/hoursource | per-seat · Microsoft 365 Copilot Business add-on ₹1,745/user/month (promo ₹1,495.73 yearly); Business Standard with Copilot ₹1,955/user/month yearly; Business Premium with Copilot ₹2,660/user/month yearlysource |
| Seat minimum | not disclosed | up to 300 users for business plans/add-on; no minimum foundsource |
| Minimum term | not disclosed | annual commitment for yearly paid plans/promotion; monthly billing also listedsource |
| Free trial | not disclosedsource | documented yessource |
| Data | ||
| No training on customer data | documented yessource | documented yessource |
| Zero retention with model providers | not disclosedsource | not disclosedsource |
| Data residency options | US, EU, AUsource | EU, USsource |
| Private deployment | not disclosedsource | documented nosource |
| Encryption at rest | documented yessource | documented yessource |
| Certifications | ||
| SOC 2 | documented yessource | documented yessource |
| ISO 27001 | not disclosedsource | documented yessource |
| ISO 42001 | documented yessource | documented yessource |
| HIPAA | documented yessource | documented yessource |
| Contract | ||
| DPA offered | documented yessource | documented yessource |
| Sub-processor list published | documented yessource | documented yessource |
| SSO / SAML | documented yessource | not disclosedsource |
| Breach notification window | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| Terms last updated | 2026-09-01source | not disclosed |
| Privacy policy last updated | not disclosed | 2026-08-18source |
| Record | ||
| Accuracy evidence published | none published | 0 third-party · 1 vendor-runsource |
| Incidents on the record | none recorded | none recorded |
| Documentation last audited | 2026-09-06 | 2026-09-06 |
documented yes documented no not disclosed on the pages we read
Cite this comparison
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Amazon Q Business and Microsoft 365 Copilot: documented facts", safelegalai.com/tools/compare/amazon-q-business-vs-microsoft-365-copilot (accessed 2026-09-08). Data: CC BY 4.0. Facts are recorded from the vendors' published pages on the dates shown; vendors may correct a record via /report.
SafeLegalAI is a research publication by Cognesio LLP, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by Cognesio LLP. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice. SafeLegalAI is published by Cognesio LLP, which also builds LegalAI Space (an Omnizio LP product); LegalAI Space is listed in the directory with a permanent ownership label and is never compared, scored or counted here. Ownership policy.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.