Legal Tech / Enterprise copilots used in firms
Amazon Q Business
Amazon Web Services · HQ US · founded 2006 · shut-down · Last checked 2026-09-04
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
Bedrock-based enterprise Q&A assistant over connected data sources. No longer open to new customers; AWS directs customers to migrate to Amazon Quick.
- Category
- Enterprise copilots used in firms · enterprise search, RAG, Q Apps
- Built for
- In-house legal, Mid-sized firms
- Model providers (disclosed)
- Amazon Bedrock (multiple)
- Data residency options
- US, EU, AU
- Pricing
- per-seat · Lite $3/user/month; Pro $20/user/month; index units $0.264/hour
- Markets
- US
- Last checked
- 04 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
The Amazon Q Business user guide describes a managed generative-AI assistant configured to answer questions, provide summaries, generate content and complete tasks based on enterprise data, with permissions-aware responses and citations. The availability page says Amazon Q Business is no longer open to new customers and that AWS will provide bug fixes and security updates for existing customers. The service-improvement page says Amazon Q Business does not use customer data for service improvement or for improving underlying LLMs. The regions page lists US East, US West, Europe (Ireland) and Asia Pacific (Sydney) endpoints. The data-encryption page states support for encryption at rest using a customer-supplied AWS KMS key. The compliance-validation page says third-party auditors assess Amazon Q Business and lists HIPAA, SOC 1, 2 and 3, PCI and ISO 42001. The AWS sub-processors page, updated 28 July 2026, describes AWS engaged sub-processors, but the audit did not find named underlying model providers. The pricing page publishes user subscriptions, search-volume pricing and a 60-day free trial; no seat minimum or minimum term was found.
In the vendor's words
“Amazon Q Business is no longer open to new customers.”
“Amazon Q Business does not use customer data for service improvement or for improving underlying LLMs.”
“provides citations to the sources that it used to generate its response”
“Amazon Q Business offers plans based on user subscriptions and search volumes.”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
On pages read on 2026-09-06, the audit did not find underlying model providers, a privacy-policy date, seat minimum, minimum term, ISO 27001 statement, private-deployment option or zero-retention commitment. A legal procurement or DPIA record normally still needs report scope, sub-processor routing, deletion and retention terms, and region controls for legal matter data processed through connected enterprise sources.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which managed models and AWS service teams process connected legal documents for each application?
- For existing customers, what migration timeline to Amazon Quick applies and what happens to retained Q Business indexes?
- Can AWS identify the SOC and ISO 42001 report scope that names Amazon Q Business, and the report period available in Artifact?
- Which regions are used for indexing, cross-region inference and citations when an application is configured in eu-west-1 or ap-southeast-2?
- What retention and deletion controls apply to prompts, retrieved source passages, generated answers and logs?
Accuracy evidence
No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-04.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-04.
Ownership · Public (Amazon). Closed to new customers, maintenance only; successor product is Amazon Quick.
Sources
- AWS — Amazon Q Business availability change
- AWS — Amazon Q Business service improvement (no training)
- AWS — Amazon Q Business data protection
- AWS — Amazon Q Business pricing
- AWS — Amazon Q Business compliance validation
- AWS — Amazon Q Business cross-region inference
- AWS — Data Processing Addendum
- SafeLegalAI documentation audit, 2026-09-06: every fact with its quote, source page and archived copy
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Amazon Q Business", safelegalai.com/tools/amazon-q-business (last checked 2026-09-04, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
Documented facts, side by side
- Amazon Q Business and ChatGPT Enterprise / Team
- Amazon Q Business and Claude for Enterprise / Team
- Amazon Q Business and Gemini for Google Workspace
- Amazon Q Business and Microsoft 365 Copilot
Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.
Also in Enterprise copilots used in firms
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
