Legal Tech / Enterprise copilots used in firms
ChatGPT Enterprise / Team
OpenAI · HQ US · founded 2015 · Last checked 2026-09-11
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
Business tiers of ChatGPT with an admin console, SSO/SCIM, no-training default, configurable retention and regional data residency; SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001 via trust portal.
- Category
- Enterprise copilots used in firms · chat, agents, projects, connectors, custom GPTs
- Built for
- Large firms, Mid-sized firms, In-house legal, Small firms & solos
- Model providers (disclosed)
- own
- Data residency options
- US, EU, UK, AU, CA, JP, IN, SG, KR, AE
- Pricing
- per-seat
- Markets
- US, EU, UK
- Last checked
- 11 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
OpenAI's ChatGPT Enterprise page and pricing page rendered only shell pages through the permitted fetches; the record therefore uses the trust portal, OpenAI Academy, Help Center and API data guide. The trust portal says OpenAI products are covered by a SOC 2 Type 2 report and lists ISO/IEC 27001:2022, 27701:2019 and 42001:2023 items. It exposes Data Processing Agreement and Subprocessors items, but the audit did not extract named sub-processors, model providers, or DPA terms from those pages. OpenAI Academy says ChatGPT Enterprise and ChatGPT Business do not use business customer content to train models by default, encrypt data at rest and in transit, and allow Enterprise owners to set a retention policy with a 90-day minimum. The Help Center lists ChatGPT data-residency regions and says Enterprise/Edu customers can choose supported regions for storage at rest. No public ChatGPT Enterprise list price, seat minimum, private deployment term or accuracy claim was found.
In the vendor's words
“Our products are covered in our SOC 2 Type 2 report”
“Our products are also ISO 27001, 27017, 27018, and 27701 certified.”
“ISO/IEC 42001:2023”
“OpenAI does not use business customer content from ChatGPT Enterprise and ChatGPT Business to train its models.”
“Enterprise Owners can set a custom data retention policy for the workspace with a minimum of 90 days.”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
On pages read on 2026-09-11, the audit did not find a public ChatGPT Enterprise price, seat minimum, minimum term, accuracy method, named sub-processors, privacy or terms update dates, private-deployment statement or zero-retention commitment for ChatGPT Enterprise. A legal procurement or DPIA file normally needs those points to document client-data routing, confidentiality safeguards, deletion terms, processor obligations and supervisory controls for user-created chat outputs.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which named sub-processors process ChatGPT Enterprise prompts, files, connector content and logs, and in which regions?
- Which retention controls apply to chats, files, custom GPTs, connectors and audit logs for Enterprise and Team tenants?
- What ChatGPT Enterprise price, seat floor and minimum term apply to the customer tenant?
- Can OpenAI provide the DPA terms, breach-notification window and sub-processor change-notice process outside the trust portal shell?
- What accuracy or hallucination testing is published for ChatGPT Enterprise responses over uploaded legal materials?
Accuracy evidence
No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-11.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-11.
Ownership · Private. ChatGPT residency is documented for new Enterprise/Edu workspaces; OpenAI Academy says Enterprise retention has a 90-day minimum. Consumer ChatGPT incidents in the tracker do not concern this product.
News and analysis about OpenAI ChatGPT →
Sources
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "ChatGPT Enterprise / Team", safelegalai.com/tools/chatgpt-enterprise (last checked 2026-09-11, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
What the vendor has announced, dated
- OpenAI RSS highlights Gilbert + Tobin AI scaling · Named deployment
First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.
Documented facts, side by side
- ChatGPT Enterprise / Team and Harvey
- ChatGPT Enterprise / Team and Legora
- ChatGPT Enterprise / Team and Amazon Q Business
- ChatGPT Enterprise / Team and Claude for Enterprise / Team
- ChatGPT Enterprise / Team and Gemini for Google Workspace
- ChatGPT Enterprise / Team and Microsoft 365 Copilot
Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.
Also in Enterprise copilots used in firms
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
