Legal Tech / Intake & client communication
Lawmatics (Merlin AI)
Lawmatics · HQ US · founded 2017 · Last checked 2026-10-05
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
Legal CRM and intake platform with Merlin AI: Copilot assistant, Qualify lead scoring and Engage outreach agent; email, phone and chat agents listed as coming soon; SOC 2 Type 2 and HIPAA.
Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.
- Category
- Intake & client communication · CRM, intake, lead scoring, outreach agent, marketing automation
- Built for
- Small firms & solos, Mid-sized firms
- Model providers (disclosed)
- OpenAI
- Data residency options
- US
- Pricing
- per-seat
- Markets
- US
- Last checked
- 05 Oct 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
Lawmatics pages describe a law-firm CRM and intake platform. The AI page says Merlin currently includes Merlin Copilot, a conversational assistant; Merlin Qualify, which scores incoming leads; and Merlin Engage, an outreach agent, while email, phone and website chat agents are listed as coming soon. The sub-processor list, updated 17 June 2026, names 16 providers, all with US locations, including AWS hosting, OpenAI for AI features, Langfuse for AI feature logs and tracing, and Anthropic for internal data analysis, support review and software development. The DPA, version 1.1 effective 16 June 2026, says Lawmatics primarily processes Customer Personal Data in the United States, gives 72-hour breach notice after confirmation, provides a SOC 2 Type II report on request, and deletes data after a 90-day export period. It bars use of Customer Personal Data to train a generative AI model made available to third parties. The security page states SOC 2 Type 2 and HIPAA verified by AssuranceLab and AES-256 storage. Pricing lists a three-user minimum for Essential and Premium and five for Enterprise, with no list price.
In the vendor's words
“Lawmatics primarily processes Customer Personal Data in the United States.”
“within seventy-two (72) hours of confirmation”
“The current list of Subprocessors is available at lawmatics.com/subprocessors and is updated from time to time.”
“Lawmatics has achieved SOC 2 Type 2”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
Not published on the pages we read on 2026-10-05: list price, minimum term, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, private deployment, zero retention and an accuracy method for Merlin Copilot output. Legal procurement and DPIA files usually record these points to price contract duration, confirm certification scope, map AI and support sub-processors to client data, assess retention after export and document human review of AI-assisted intake work.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which of the current sub-processors process Customer Personal Data rather than only internal operations data?
- Does OpenAI processing for Merlin AI use the USA location listed on the sub-processor page for all customers?
- Can the 90-day export period be shortened for closed matters or deletion requests?
- What list price and minimum term apply to Essential, Pro or Enterprise tiers with the three-user minimum?
- What testing supports Merlin Copilot output before user review and approval?
- Is zero-retention or private deployment available for firms with regulated health or immigration matters?
Accuracy evidence
No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-10-05.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-10-05.
Sources
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Lawmatics (Merlin AI)", safelegalai.com/tools/lawmatics (last checked 2026-10-05, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
What the vendor has announced, dated
- Lawmatics lists LawLink.ai integration for AI platforms · Integration
- Lawmatics unveils Merlin AI suite · Product launch
First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.
Also in Intake & client communication
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
