Skip to content

Legal Tech / Legal research

Caseway (Casey)

Caseway · HQ CA · Last checked 2026-09-11

Visit website

Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.

Canadian legal research AI (Casey) with cited answers over Canadian and US decisions; CaseForm automation and Synthium validation layer; on-prem or isolated-cloud deployment option.

Category
Legal research · Canadian and US case-law research, CaseForm form automation, Synthium validation layer
Built for
Small firms & solos, Consumers, Courts
Model providers (disclosed)
Not disclosed
Data residency options
Canada
Pricing
freemium · Casey $49/month after free trial; CaseForm $49/seat/month; students 50% off; CaseLite free
Markets
CANADA, US
Last checked
11 Sept 2026

What the vendor documents

Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.

No training on customer data
documented yessource
SOC 2
not disclosedsource
ISO 27001
not disclosedsource
ISO 42001
not disclosedsource
Zero retention with model providers
documented yessource
DPA offered
not disclosedsource
Private deployment
documented yessource

What the public documentation states

Caseway's public pages describe Casey for Canadian and US case-law research, CaseForm for form automation and Synthium as a validation layer; the homepage states on-prem or isolated-cloud deployment. The audit did not find named model providers or a public sub-processor list. The terms dated 7 February 2026 say user material may be transmitted to third-party LLMs or service providers under confidentiality and data-protection duties, and also state a default zero-retention policy for Customer Data. The Synthium whitepaper states no training on customer operational or matter data, Canadian data residency, private-cloud and on-prem deployment. The privacy page dated 9 March 2026 says data is protected in transit and at rest. Pricing pages publish Casey at $49 per month after a 7-day free trial, CaseForm at $49 per seat per month, student discount and CaseLite free. Caseway states cited answers and lineage/policy control; no independent accuracy study was in the audit.

In the vendor's words

“may be transmitted to third-party LLMs or service providers”
Terms of Service, effective 7 February 2026
“No training on customer operational or matter data”
Synthium whitepaper
““zero-retention” policy for Customer Data by default”
Terms of Service, effective 7 February 2026
“Then $49/month · Cancel anytime”
Casey pricing page

Not disclosed on public pages

"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.

Not published on the pages we read on 2026-09-11: DPA, model-provider names, sub-processor list, seat minimum, SOC 2, ISO 27001, ISO 42001 and SSO/SAML. Procurement and DPIA reviewers normally need those items to trace third-party LLM data flows, set GDPR Art. 28 processor terms, verify access controls, and document lawyer competence/supervision for cited research and form automation.

Questions to put to the vendor

  1. Which third-party LLMs or service providers receive Casey prompts, CaseForm data or uploaded documents?
  2. Is Canadian data residency available for all product tiers, including the 7-day trial and CaseLite?
  3. What DPA terms apply when Customer Data is transmitted to third-party LLMs?
  4. How is the zero-retention default enforced with each LLM or service provider?
  5. What tests support the cited-answer and full-lineage accuracy statements?

Accuracy evidence

No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-11.

Related incidents

No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-11.

Ownership · Uploads auto-deleted within 24 hours; chat history opt-in.

Sources

Report an issue with this record →

Cite this record

SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Caseway (Casey)", safelegalai.com/tools/caseway (last checked 2026-09-11, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.

Documented facts, side by side

Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.

Also in Legal research

SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.

Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.