Legal Tech / Drafting & general assistants
DeepIP
DeepIP Incorporated · HQ US · Last checked 2026-09-16
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
Patent drafting and prosecution AI embedded in Microsoft Word; 150M+ patents indexed and 25,000+ applications drafted; runs an OpenAI model on Azure via a zero-retention API.
- Category
- Drafting & general assistants · patents, patent drafting in Word, prosecution, prior-art search, FTO and invalidity
- Built for
- Large firms, Mid-sized firms, In-house legal
- Model providers (disclosed)
- OpenAI
- Data residency options
- Not disclosed
- Pricing
- enterprise
- Markets
- US, EU
- Last checked
- 16 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
DeepIP's homepage and security page describe a patent drafting and prosecution product for patent firms and IP departments, including Microsoft Word use. The security page says DeepIP uses an OpenAI model hosted on Azure, no data is sent to OpenAI infrastructure outside Azure, and OpenAI cannot view data, store it longer than required to process the request, or use it to train the AI model. The security page states DeepIP does not retain client data or use it for model training, and lists ISO 42001, ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA and GDPR. The terms page was last updated April 2026, and the privacy policy says July 2024. Private, dedicated infrastructure and private deployment are described. The trial page says "Start your DeepIP trial," but no list price, seat minimum, pricing model or minimum term was published. The security page states that IP and machine-learning experts design models to minimize hallucinations; it does not publish a numerical accuracy result.
In the vendor's words
“We do not retain any client data nor use it for model training.”
“meaning OpenAI cannot view any of that data”
“zero-retention approach to AI processing”
“For data at rest, we utilize symmetric encryption (AES-256)”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
Not published on pages we read on 2026-09-16: a public DPA, public subprocessor list, data-residency location, concrete price, pricing model, seat minimum, minimum term, and SSO/SAML details. The pages also did not publish a numerical accuracy metric. A procurement or DPIA file would normally need those items to check processor terms, client confidentiality, access controls, retention, and competence or supervision duties for patent work.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Can DeepIP provide a DPA, breach-notification window, and processor clauses for patent matter data?
- Which public subprocessor list covers Azure, OpenAI, support providers, and their processing regions?
- What price, paid term, seat floor, and cancellation terms apply after the trial?
- Which private or dedicated infrastructure option is available for a firm tenant?
- How do the IP and machine-learning experts measure hallucination reduction?
Accuracy evidence
No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-16.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-16.
Ownership · $40M Series B (2026, per vendor homepage).
Sources
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "DeepIP", safelegalai.com/tools/deepip (last checked 2026-09-16, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
What the vendor has announced, dated
- DeepIP publishes Munich AI patent practice recap · Research or benchmark
- DeepIP status: Office action - EPO auto import · Status-page incident
- DeepIP acquires PatentMaker · Acquisition
First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.
Documented facts, side by side
Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.
Also in Drafting & general assistants
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
