Skip to content

Legal Tech / Drafting & general assistants

Harvey

Harvey AI (Counsel AI Corporation) · HQ US · founded 2022 · Last checked 2026-09-04

Visit website

Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.

Firm-wide legal AI platform for research, drafting, review and agentic workflows, deployed by 40+ Am Law 100 firms and in-house teams; first legal AI agents certified under AIUC-1 (July 2026).

Category
Drafting & general assistants · research, drafting and review, agentic workflows, Word add-in
Built for
Large firms, Mid-sized firms, In-house legal
Model providers (disclosed)
OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Microsoft Azure, Mistral, Baseten, Fireworks, AWS
Data residency options
US, EU, CH, AU
Pricing
enterprise
Markets
US, UK, EU, AUSTRALIA
Last checked
04 Sept 2026

What the vendor documents

Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.

No training on customer data
documented yessource
SOC 2
documented yessource
ISO 27001
documented yessource
ISO 42001
documented yessource
Zero retention with model providers
documented yessource
DPA offered
documented yessource
Private deployment
not disclosedsource

What the public documentation states

Harvey’s public pages describe a legal AI platform for research, drafting, review and agentic workflows used by law firms and in-house teams. The sub-processor list dated 2 August 2026 names Microsoft, OpenAI, Google, AWS, Anthropic, ElevenLabs, DeepL, Mistral, Baseten and Fireworks, and the security page lists EU or Switzerland, US, and Australia residency options. The security page states that Harvey does not use inputs, outputs or uploaded documents to train underlying models and requires Zero Data Retention from model providers. The Security Addendum dated 26 December 2025 states a 48-hour notice after becoming aware of a security incident and one-year audit-log retention. The security page lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 27701 and ISO 42001. The DPA dated 2 August 2026 says customer content is deleted within 30 days after termination. Public pages read for the audit did not publish pricing or a standing accuracy figure; separate record sources list VLAIR and AIUC-1 evidence.

In the vendor's words

“We don’t use inputs, outputs, or uploaded documents to train underlying models.”
Security page
“Harvey requires Zero Data Retention (ZDR) by model providers.”
Security page
“within 48 hours after becoming aware”
Security Addendum, dated 26 December 2025
“SOC 2 Type II”
Security page

Not disclosed on public pages

"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.

On pages read on 2026-09-06, Harvey did not publish a list price, trial, minimum term, seat minimum, private-deployment option, standing accuracy claim or accuracy method on the checked vendor pages. A procurement or DPIA file normally needs pricing and seat scope for spend approval, deployment options and residency for client confidentiality, and accuracy method details for SRA or ABA competence and supervision controls.

Questions to put to the vendor

  1. Which of Microsoft, OpenAI, Google, AWS, Anthropic, ElevenLabs, DeepL, Mistral, Baseten and Fireworks process matter data for the selected workflow?
  2. For an EU or Switzerland residency selection, which inference providers and regions are used?
  3. Does any private-deployment option exist for Harvey agents, or only tenant-level configuration in shared cloud services?
  4. What current accuracy evaluation method does Harvey use outside VLAIR and BigLaw Bench?
  5. Does the 48-hour notice run from first awareness by Harvey or from confirmed incident classification?

Accuracy evidence

Related incidents

No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-04.

Ownership · Venture-backed; $200M Series G at an $11B valuation (Mar 2026, GIC and Sequoia); ~$1.22B raised.

News and analysis about Harvey →

Sources

Report an issue with this record →

Cite this record

SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Harvey", safelegalai.com/tools/harvey (last checked 2026-09-04, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.

What the vendor has announced, dated

  1. Harvey partners with Everlaw · Partnership
  2. Harvey rebuilds Playbook Review as multi-agent system · Feature release
  3. Harvey introduces Horizon Scanning · Feature release
  4. Harvey makes Fable 5.1 available · Model or provider disclosed
  5. Harvey adds Memory · Feature release
  6. Harvey shares Tenet research preview · Model or provider disclosed
  7. Harvey introduces Harvey II · Product launch
  8. Harvey reports frontier review-table model training · Research or benchmark
  9. Harvey adds audio, video and image understanding · Feature release
  10. Harvey publishes August product updates · Feature release
  11. Harvey updates Outlook experience · Feature release
  12. Harvey adds Playbook Builder · Feature release

First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.

Documented facts, side by side

Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.

Also in Drafting & general assistants

SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.

Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.