Skip to content

Legal Tech / Legal research

descrybe.ai

Descrybe, LLC · HQ US · founded 2023 · Last checked 2026-09-16

Visit website

Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.

Self-funded US case-law research platform with the DescrybeLM reasoning engine, plain-language summaries, a citator and a 'Legal Engine' data layer for ChatGPT, Claude, Copilot and Perplexity.

Category
Legal research · case-law search, plain-language summaries, citator, assistant plugins
Built for
Small firms & solos, Consumers, Mid-sized firms
Model providers (disclosed)
OpenAI
Data residency options
New York City, New York
Pricing
per-seat · $50/month platform; $25/month Legal Engine
Markets
US
Last checked
16 Sept 2026

What the vendor documents

Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.

No training on customer data
documented yessource
SOC 2
documented nosource
ISO 27001
documented nosource
ISO 42001
not disclosedsource
Zero retention with model providers
documented nosource
DPA offered
not disclosedsource
Private deployment
documented nosource

What the public documentation states

Descrybe's pricing page describes legal research tools for supported assistants and apps, including Descrybe Platform and Legal Engine. The security page, dated 30 July 2026, says the primary LLM provider is OpenAI's API, that Descrybe has opted out of OpenAI training, and that OpenAI does not use customer prompts, files or conversational history by default for training. The same page says data is stored in the New York City, New York region, uses encryption in transit and at rest, has no customer-facing zero-retention mode, and may retain OpenAI abuse-monitoring logs for up to 30 days. It also says Descrybe does not currently maintain its own SOC 2 or ISO 27001 certification; no ISO 42001 statement was found. Terms updated 22 July 2026 say Descrybe outputs may be inaccurate or erroneous. Pricing is published at $50 per month for Descrybe Platform and $25 per month for Legal Engine, with monthly billing; no seat minimum was found.

In the vendor's words

“primary LLM provider is OpenAI's API”
Security page, dated 30 July 2026
“does not use customer prompts, files, or conversational history”
Security page, dated 30 July 2026
“does not currently offer a customer-facing zero-retention mode”
Security page, dated 30 July 2026
“Descrybe Outputs may be inaccurate or erroneous”
Terms, updated 22 July 2026

Not disclosed on public pages

"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.

Not published on the pages we read on 2026-09-06: DPA, sub-processor list, free trial, seat minimum, ISO 42001 and SSO/SAML. Procurement and DPIA files normally need these to document processor terms under GDPR Art. 28, model-provider and log routing, confidentiality controls for research prompts and files, retention limits and user-access management.

Questions to put to the vendor

  1. Can you provide a DPA naming OpenAI and any other providers that process prompts, files or conversational history?
  2. What controls limit OpenAI abuse-monitoring logs during the stated 30-day retention period?
  3. Which security evidence is available in place of SOC 2, ISO 27001 or ISO 42001 certification?
  4. What SSO/SAML or other access controls are available for shared law-firm subscriptions?
  5. How are inaccurate or erroneous outputs detected, logged and corrected in the legal research workflow?

Accuracy evidence

No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-16.

Related incidents

No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-16.

Ownership · Self-funded.

Sources

Report an issue with this record →

Cite this record

SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "descrybe.ai", safelegalai.com/tools/descrybe-ai (last checked 2026-09-16, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.

What the vendor has announced, dated

  1. Descrybe Legal Engine becomes a Microsoft 365 Copilot source · Integration
  2. Descrybe describes Legal Engine Open Connector and workflow paths · Feature release
  3. Descrybe publishes Claude MCP connector guide for lawyers · Integration

First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.

Documented facts, side by side

Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.

Also in Legal research

SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.

Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.