Skip to content

Legal Tech / Legal research

Jhana

Jhana AI · HQ IN · founded 2022 · Last checked 2026-09-22

Visit website

Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.

'India's first AI paralegal': research over 16M+ Indian judgments and statutes, argument generation and bulk document extraction; free tier available (free-tier data sharing is opt-out).

Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.

Category
Legal research · Indian case law, AI paralegal, drafting, bulk document extraction
Built for
Small firms & solos, Mid-sized firms, Courts, In-house legal
Model providers (disclosed)
OpenAI, Google DeepMind, Anthropic, Mistral AI, Groq
Data residency options
India
Pricing
freemium
Markets
INDIA
Last checked
22 Sept 2026

What the vendor documents

Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.

No training on customer data
documented nosource
SOC 2
not disclosedsource
ISO 27001
not disclosedsource
ISO 42001
not disclosedsource
Zero retention with model providers
documented yessource
DPA offered
not disclosedsource
Private deployment
documented yessource

What the public documentation states

Jhana's homepage describes an AI paralegal for Indian advocates and says users can search 16M+ judgments, upload documents and get instant citations. The data policy states Jhana uses its own pretrained, finetuned or open-source models for search, citation extraction and manifold learning, running inference on its own servers. It names production frontier models from OpenAI, Google DeepMind and Anthropic, and the audit also records Mistral AI and Groq. The data policy says paying customers and courts are excluded from model training, while free-tier users may allow model-training retention, and it says providers offer zero retention or training guarantees while OpenAI may temporarily log some data. The privacy policy says user data is stored with AWS within India and refers to siloed private versions of the platform. The billing page states free start, monthly or annual plans, 10% annual savings and 18% GST, but no list price in the fetched text. The audit found no SOC 2, ISO 27001 or ISO 42001 statement.

In the vendor's words

“Search 16M+ judgments, upload documents, get instant citations.”
Jhana homepage
“we inference these models in our own servers and compute”
Jhana data policy
“Paying customers: Content and files are excluded from model training.”
Jhana data policy
“stored in databases and storage services from AWS within India”
Jhana privacy policy

Not disclosed on public pages

"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.

Not published on pages we read on 2026-09-22: a public DPA, subprocessor list, privacy-policy date, terms date, list price, seat minimum, SOC 2, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, and SSO/SAML details. A law-firm or court DPIA file would normally need these items to identify processors, confirm paid and free-tier data handling, document client confidentiality controls, and assess GDPR Art. 28 terms where cross-border matters apply.

Questions to put to the vendor

  1. Which model providers named in the data policy process paid-customer prompts, and which are used only for free-tier data?
  2. How can free-tier users opt out of model-training retention, and how is that opt-out recorded?
  3. Can Jhana provide its DPA, subprocessor list, and processor locations for court or law-firm deployments?
  4. What published price, paid term, and seat minimum apply to monthly and annual plans?
  5. What audit evidence supports the instant-citations claim for Indian judgments and statutes?

Accuracy evidence

No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-22.

Related incidents

No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-22.

Ownership · $1.6M seed (Oct 2024) led by Together Fund with Razorpay founders and Kunal Shah. Vendor states it does not train on paid-customer data; free users must opt out of data sharing.

Sources

Report an issue with this record →

Cite this record

SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Jhana", safelegalai.com/tools/jhana (last checked 2026-09-22, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.

Also in Legal research

SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.

Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.