Paxton AI
Paxton AI, Inc. · HQ US · founded 2023 · Last checked 2026-09-03
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
All-in-one AI legal assistant for research, drafting and document analysis with a Confidence Indicator and AI Citator; marketed from solo practitioners to Am Law 20 firms.
Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.
- Category
- Legal research · case-law research, drafting, citator, document analysis
- Built for
- Small firms & solos, Mid-sized firms, Large firms, In-house legal
- Model providers (disclosed)
- Google Cloud Platform, Microsoft Azure, Amazon Web Services
- Data residency options
- US
- Pricing
- per-seat · $499 per user/month; $2,999 per user/year; Enterprise custom volume-based pricing
- Markets
- US
- Last checked
- 03 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
Paxton pages describe an AI legal assistant for research, drafting and document analysis, covering case law across all 50 states, US federal regulations and state laws. The subprocessor list dated 5 March 2025 names Google Cloud Platform, Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services for LLM or cloud processing, with processing performed in the US. The security page states that customer data is never used for model training. The audit did not find zero-retention or private-deployment terms. The same security page says Paxton adheres to SOC 2, ISO 27001 and HIPAA standards, while the terms dated 27 February 2026 say the services are not tailored for HIPAA, FISMA or GLBA. No ISO 42001 statement was found. Pricing pages publish a 7-day trial, $499 per user per month, $2,999 per user per year and custom enterprise pricing. Paxton states 93.82% average accuracy and 94.7% non-hallucination on sampled Stanford benchmark tasks; the evaluation was vendor-run.
In the vendor's words
“never used for model training”
“Country Where Processing is Performed US”
“$499 per user/month”
“selected a representative random sample of 1,600 tasks”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
Not published on pages we read on 2026-09-06: seat minimum, ISO 42001 statement, private deployment, SSO/SAML and zero-retention terms. The audit also did not find SOC 2 type, auditor or certificate dates. Procurement and DPIA review normally needs these points to map client-data handling, access controls, deletion, professional supervision duties and GDPR Art. 28 processor commitments.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which GCP, Azure and AWS services in the subprocessor list process client documents, and are all such operations in the US?
- What SOC 2 report type, ISO 27001 certificate body and current certificate dates apply?
- How do the HIPAA standards or certification page statements reconcile with the terms saying services are not tailored for HIPAA?
- Is there any private deployment, SSO/SAML or prompt and output zero-retention option?
- What seat minimum applies to the $499 monthly and $2,999 yearly plan?
- Which excluded Stanford benchmark task types are outside the 93.82% result?
Accuracy evidence
- vendorPaxton self-evaluation on Stanford Legal Hallucination Benchmark, July 2024 94.7% non-hallucination / 93.8% accuracy on 1,600 sampled tasks; three task types excluded; vendor-run.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-03.
Ownership · $22M Series A led by Unusual Ventures (Jan 2025); ~$28M raised. SOC 2 and ISO 27001 adherence claimed on security page without certificate detail.
Sources
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Paxton AI", safelegalai.com/tools/paxton-ai (last checked 2026-09-03, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
What the vendor has announced, dated
- Paxton AI describes Secure Matter Collaboration · Feature release
- Paxton AI posts New York City Bar Association member offer · Partnership
First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.
Also in Legal research
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
