Skip to content

Legal Tech / Knowledge & document management

Josef (Josef Q)

Josef Legal Pty Ltd · HQ AU · founded 2017 · Last checked 2026-10-05

Visit website

Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.

No-code legal automation platform; Josef Q turns policies, playbooks and regulatory content into AI Q&A tools with human-in-the-loop moderation; data residency in the US, EU, UK and Australia.

Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.

Category
Knowledge & document management · no-code legal automation, policy and playbook Q&A, contract automation, workflow automation
Built for
In-house legal, Mid-sized firms, Large firms
Model providers (disclosed)
Not disclosed
Data residency options
US, EU, UK, AU
Pricing
enterprise
Markets
AUSTRALIA, US, UK, EU
Last checked
05 Oct 2026

What the vendor documents

Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.

No training on customer data
not disclosedsource
SOC 2
documented yessource
ISO 27001
not disclosedsource
ISO 42001
not disclosedsource
Zero retention with model providers
not disclosedsource
DPA offered
not disclosedsource
Private deployment
not disclosedsource

What the public documentation states

Josef's public pages describe no-code automation and Josef Q, an AI Q&A tool for policies, playbooks and regulatory content with a closed-domain system, human-in-the-loop moderation and source review. No current vendor page checked on 2026-10-05 names a model provider. The security page states data residency options in the US, Europe, the UK and Australia, AES-256 encryption at rest, TLS 1.3 in transit, annual third-party penetration testing and SOC 2 Type II certification; the privacy policy says "SOC2 Type I and II certified". The security page refers to ISO certification of its server infrastructure without naming an ISO standard held by Josef. The privacy policy, effective 15 February 2024, says Josef enters data processing agreements and model clauses with its own vendors where feasible and provides a subprocessor list on request; no customer-facing DPA is published. The terms page covers website use only. Pricing is demo-based and no accuracy metric is published.

In the vendor's words

“a closed-domain system, human-in-the-loop moderation”
Josef homepage
“review and edit answers, view and select sources”
Josef homepage
“data residency options in the US, Europe, the UK, and Australia”
Josef security
“A list of our third party sub processors can be provided on request.”
Josef Privacy Policy, effective 15 February 2024

Not disclosed on public pages

"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.

Not published on pages we read on 2026-10-05: named model providers, a customer DPA, product terms, free trial, list price, minimum term, seat minimum, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, no-training terms, private deployment, SSO/SAML, and zero-retention terms. Subprocessor names are not public, because the privacy policy says the list is available on request. A procurement or DPIA file would normally need these points for client confidentiality, processor oversight and supervision records.

Questions to put to the vendor

  1. Which model provider powers Josef Q, and does it receive prompts, source documents, or edited answers?
  2. Can Josef provide the subprocessor list referenced in the privacy policy, including regions and processing purposes?
  3. Does Josef Q use customer content to train any model, and what retention applies to prompts and outputs?
  4. Which ISO certification is referenced on the security page, and what certificate period applies?
  5. What price, paid term, and seat minimum apply to a Josef Q deployment?

Accuracy evidence

Related incidents

No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-10-05.

Ownership · $6.7M raised over three rounds; $3.5M seed Nov 2022 (Carthona, OIF, Jelix). OpenAI model use reported at the 2023 launch.

Sources

Report an issue with this record →

Cite this record

SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Josef (Josef Q)", safelegalai.com/tools/josef (last checked 2026-10-05, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.

What the vendor has announced, dated

  1. Josef customer story describes Randstad contract tools · Named deployment
  2. Josef customer story describes Adelaide University self-service legal tools · Named deployment
  3. Frontline Justice begins Frontline Q rollout with Josef · Named deployment
  4. Josef customer story describes adidas AI Q&A use · Named deployment

First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.

Also in Knowledge & document management

SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.

Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.