Skip to content

Legal Tech / Knowledge & document management

NetDocuments ndMAX

NetDocuments · HQ US · founded 1999 · Last checked 2026-09-03

Visit website

Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.

AI suite inside the NetDocuments DMS: Legal AI Assistant, AI Search, Tabular Review, App Builder and 39+ prebuilt Legal Apps, built on Azure OpenAI with regional endpoints in five countries.

Category
Knowledge & document management · DMS, ask your documents, app builder, Tabular Review, AI search
Built for
Large firms, Mid-sized firms, In-house legal
Model providers (disclosed)
OpenAI
Data residency options
US, UK, DE, AU, CA
Pricing
enterprise
Markets
US, UK, EU, AUSTRALIA, CANADA
Last checked
03 Sept 2026

What the vendor documents

Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.

No training on customer data
documented yessource
SOC 2
documented yessource
ISO 27001
documented yessource
ISO 42001
not disclosedsource
Zero retention with model providers
documented yessource
DPA offered
not disclosedsource
Private deployment
documented nosource

What the public documentation states

The ndMAX and Legal AI pages describe an AI suite inside the NetDocuments document-management system, including Legal AI Assistant, AI Search, Tabular Review and app building. The audit quotes the Legal AI page saying the service is "powered by Microsoft Cognitive Services and Azure OpenAI" and that "Only the inputs and outputs are shared with or used by the LLM." The same audit records customer prompts and outputs as not used to train the LLM and not maintained beyond the exchange. For retention inside NetDocuments, the Legal AI Assistant page says retention follows the firm's NetDocuments governance settings. The security page states annual independent SOC 2 Type 2 audits and lists ISO 27001, 27017, 27018 and 27701. It also refers to geo-aware content storage rather than a named public sub-processor table. The pages read on 2026-09-06 did not publish a price, seat floor, minimum term, DPA text, ISO 42001 statement, or accuracy test method.

In the vendor's words

“powered by Microsoft Cognitive Services and Azure OpenAI”
Legal AI page
“not used to train the LLM”
Legal AI page
“annual independent SOC 2 Type 2 audits”
Security and data governance
“retention follows your firm’s NetDocuments governance settings”
Legal AI Assistant page

Not disclosed on public pages

"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.

Not published on the pages we read on 2026-09-06: public DPA text, named sub-processors, price, seat minimum, minimum term, free trial, ISO 42001, private deployment, SSO/SAML details, and accuracy or hallucination method. Procurement and DPIA review normally need these points to map processor duties under GDPR Article 28, client-confidentiality controls, access governance, budgeting, and lawyer supervision of AI outputs.

Questions to put to the vendor

  1. Which Microsoft Cognitive Services and Azure OpenAI regions process client matter prompts and outputs for each NetDocuments data-residency option?
  2. Can NetDocuments provide the DPA and named sub-processor list that were not rendered on the public trust page?
  3. What audit logs and SSO/SAML controls are available to law-firm administrators for ndMAX activity?
  4. What validation method, if any, has NetDocuments run for hallucination or accuracy claims in Legal AI Assistant and Tabular Review?
  5. What price, seat minimum, and minimum term apply to ndMAX for a midsize firm?

Accuracy evidence

No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-03.

Related incidents

No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-03.

Ownership · Private; Warburg Pincus majority (reported). Agreement with Microsoft to bypass Azure OpenAI abuse monitoring; also ISO 27017/27018/27701, FedRAMP listed.

Sources

Report an issue with this record →

Cite this record

SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "NetDocuments ndMAX", safelegalai.com/tools/netdocuments-ndmax (last checked 2026-09-03, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.

What the vendor has announced, dated

  1. NetDocuments expands MCP ecosystem · Integration
  2. NetDocuments collaborates with Google Cloud on Gemini Enterprise for Legal · Integration
  3. NetDocuments introduces Tabular Review · Feature release
  4. NetDocuments brings legal context graph to corporate legal teams · Feature release
  5. NetDocuments adds six ndMAX Studio AI apps · Feature release

First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.

Documented facts, side by side

Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.

Also in Knowledge & document management

SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.

Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.