Legal Tech / Knowledge & document management
Litera One / Lito
Litera · HQ US · Last checked 2026-09-03
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
Litera's unified AI agent 'Lito' embedded in Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace spanning drafting, document comparison, contract review (Kira), institutional knowledge and CRM; relaunched July 2026.
Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.
- Category
- Knowledge & document management · drafting, document comparison, contract review (Kira), knowledge management, CRM (Peppermint)
- Built for
- Large firms, Mid-sized firms
- Model providers (disclosed)
- Microsoft Azure OpenAI Services, You.com, AWS, Amazon Bedrock, Anthropic
- Data residency options
- US, Canada, EU
- Pricing
- enterprise
- Markets
- US, UK
- Last checked
- 03 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
Litera pages describe Litera One and Lito as an AI agent working in Word, Outlook, the web, and Apple iOS for drafting, document comparison, contract review, knowledge, and CRM. The Litera One and Lito subprocessor list names Microsoft Azure OpenAI Services, You.com, AWS, Amazon Bedrock, and Anthropic, with hosting in the US, Canada, or EU. The same list says Customer Data is not used to train underlying models, but notes different retention by provider: You.com no retention, AWS transient processing, and Anthropic up to 30 days. GenAI Terms dated April 2026 state no training or fine tuning of foundational or generative AI models unless separately agreed, and warn that outputs may be inaccurate or misleading. The trust center states SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022, but no ISO 42001 statement. Pricing uses order-form fees and 12-month renewals; Lito is stated as included with Litera Platform subscriptions at no additional cost. No accuracy method is published.
In the vendor's words
“No training or fine tuning of foundational or generative AI models”
“Anthropic will retain data and contents including inputs and outputs for up to 30 days”
“hosted in the US, Canada or EU”
“Outputs may be inaccurate or misleading”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
Not published on pages we read on 2026-09-06: privacy update date, list price, seat minimum, ISO 42001 statement, encryption-at-rest detail, SSO/SAML, private-deployment detail for Litera One, and accuracy method. A law-firm procurement or DPIA review normally needs these points for client confidentiality, residency selection, Anthropic retention, SRA/ABA supervision, and GDPR Art. 28 processor terms.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which Litera One and Lito functions use Anthropic, and when does the up-to-30-day retention apply?
- For US, Canada, or EU hosting, which Microsoft Azure OpenAI, You.com, AWS, Amazon Bedrock, and Anthropic locations are used?
- Does the on-premises software term apply to Litera One or only to other Litera products?
- What accuracy or hallucination testing is available for Lito and Kira outputs?
- Can Litera provide SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 report dates, auditors, encryption-at-rest details, and SSO/SAML settings?
Accuracy evidence
- vendorRedline engine 'rules-based and deterministic ... doesn't hallucinate' (vendor via Artificial Lawyer) Design claim; no metrics.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-03.
Ownership · Backed by Hg; acquired Peppermint Technology (Feb 2025) and Kira Systems (2021). Trust centre lists 'AI Training Data and Bias' and 'Generative AI Terms' documents that were not readable.
Sources
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Litera One / Lito", safelegalai.com/tools/litera-one (last checked 2026-09-03, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
What the vendor has announced, dated
- Litera announces Firm AI Search in Lito · Feature release
- Litera relaunches around one platform and Lito agent · Other
- Litera adds Claude Sonnet 5, Claude Fable 5 and GPT-5.6 to Lito · Model or provider disclosed
- Litera publishes June 2026 platform release updates · Feature release
- Litera announces Clean+ cloud metadata protection · Product launch
- Litera adds Claude Opus 4.8 and Sonnet 4.6 to Lito · Model or provider disclosed
First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.
Also in Knowledge & document management
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
