Midpage
Midpage AI Inc. · HQ US · founded 2022 · Last checked 2026-09-03
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
AI-native US case-law research platform with an independently built 14M-opinion database, Proposition Search and a citator; available as a web app and as plugins for general-purpose assistants.
- Category
- Legal research · case-law research, proposition search, citator, assistant plugins
- Built for
- Small firms & solos, Mid-sized firms, Large firms
- Model providers (disclosed)
- OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Mistral, Cohere
- Data residency options
- US
- Pricing
- per-seat · Starter $30 billed monthly; Pro $80 billed annually; Legal Engineer custom annual plans only
- Markets
- US
- Last checked
- 03 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
Midpage describes itself as an AI-native U.S. case-law research platform with proposition search, a citator, assistant plugins and a 14M-opinion database. Its sub-processors page, last updated 10 June 2026, names OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Mistral and Cohere as model providers. The security page says Midpage does not use customer data to train or fine-tune AI models, but also says model providers may retain submitted queries for up to 60 days. Security materials state annual SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA audits, AES-256 encryption at rest and a DPA; the DPA is dated 28 April 2026 and allows audits with at least 60 calendar days' notice. Pricing is public: Starter $30 monthly, Pro $80 billed annually and Legal Engineer custom annual plans. Terms state each seat is for a single named individual. The terms require users to independently verify output accuracy, and the record cites the Vals AI October 2025 third-party legal-research benchmark.
In the vendor's words
“does not use customer data to train or fine-tune AI models”
“Model providers may retain submitted queries for up to 60 days.”
“Data Processing Addendum”
“Each seat is for a single named individual.”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
Not published on the pages we read on 2026-09-06: data-residency location, ISO 27001 statement, ISO 42001 statement, private-deployment option, SSO detail and a vendor accuracy method. For procurement or DPIA records, these points normally tie model-provider retention, client confidentiality, GDPR Art. 28 processor terms, access controls and lawyer review of research output to documented controls.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which data-residency location applies to web-app queries, saved research and model-provider submissions?
- Can the model-provider retention period be shortened below 60 days for confidential matters?
- Which OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Mistral and Cohere services receive customer queries under the sub-processor list?
- Does the DPA audit right apply to SOC 2 and HIPAA control evidence for our account?
- What internal testing method, if any, supports Midpage output beyond the third-party Vals benchmark?
Accuracy evidence
- third-partyVals AI Legal Research benchmark, Oct 2025 74% weighted / 79% accuracy versus a 69–71% lawyer baseline.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-03.
Ownership · $4M seed (mid-2025) led by an unnamed legal publisher with LEA Partners; $6.2M raised.
Sources
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Midpage", safelegalai.com/tools/midpage (last checked 2026-09-03, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
What the vendor has announced, dated
- Midpage ships versioned U.S. law library · Feature release
- Midpage launches Perplexity integration · Integration
- Midpage launches Codex plugin · Integration
- Midpage adds on-demand PACER docket retrieval · Feature release
- Midpage MCP comes to ChatGPT · Integration
First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.
Documented facts, side by side
- Midpage and Alexi
- Midpage and Blue J (Ask Blue J)
- Midpage and Casetext CoCounsel (legacy)
- Midpage and Caseway (Casey)
- Midpage and descrybe.ai
- Midpage and Jus AI (Jus Mundi)
- Midpage and Lexis+ AI (with Protégé)
- Midpage and Lexlegis.ai (MIRA / On-Desk)
- Midpage and Vincent AI
- Midpage and Westlaw Precision / CoCounsel Legal
Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.
Also in Legal research
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
