Skip to content

Legal Tech / Legal research

Vincent AI

vLex (Clio) · HQ ES · founded 2000 · acquired · Last checked 2026-09-03

Visit website

Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.

Multi-jurisdiction AI legal research and analysis assistant over the vLex/Fastcase global law library; model-agnostic RAG that routes tasks across OpenAI, Google and Anthropic models.

Category
Legal research · case-law research, multi-jurisdiction, drafting, document analysis
Built for
Large firms, Mid-sized firms, Small firms & solos, In-house legal
Model providers (disclosed)
OpenAI, Google, Anthropic
Data residency options
US, EU, AU
Pricing
per-seat
Markets
US, EU, CANADA, AUSTRALIA
Last checked
03 Sept 2026

What the vendor documents

Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.

No training on customer data
documented yessource
SOC 2
documented yessource
ISO 27001
documented yessource
ISO 42001
not disclosedsource
Zero retention with model providers
documented yessource
DPA offered
documented yessource
Private deployment
documented nosource

What the public documentation states

vLex terms describe vLex as part of Clio and include vLex for Word. The Vincent support page on AI models says its RAG legal knowledge base uses OpenAI, Google and Anthropic, with automatic model selection, and says contractual agreements with AI model providers enforce zero data retention. The data-protection support page says uploaded material is never used to train the underlying AI models. Core security documentation states data can be hosted in the US, AU or EU, that Vincent is multi-tenant, and that retention defaults to one year and is configurable. The same security pages state FIPS 140-2 compliant encryption, annual penetration tests, detailed audit logs, SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 certification, with ISO 27001 achieved in June 2025. The terms, updated March 2024, mention discretionary free trials and a Florida governing-law clause. The audit did not find a public DPA, subprocessor list, list price or vendor-published accuracy method.

In the vendor's words

“OpenAI, Google, and Anthropic”
AI models support page
“never used to train the underlying AI models”
Data protection support page
“not retained by the model providers”
Vincent Studio security page
“Vincent is a multi-tenant application”
Core security measures support page

Not disclosed on public pages

"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.

Not published on the pages we read on 2026-09-06: a public DPA, subprocessor names and regions, privacy last-updated date, list price, minimum term, seat minimum, ISO 42001, and a vendor accuracy or hallucination benchmark. A law-firm procurement or DPIA review normally needs those items for client-confidentiality review, GDPR Article 28 processor terms, cross-border transfers, budget approval, retention sign-off, and supervision of research outputs.

Questions to put to the vendor

  1. Which subprocessors besides OpenAI, Google, and Anthropic process uploaded documents, and in which regions?
  2. Is a DPA available for law-firm customers that treat vLex as a processor?
  3. How can a customer change the default one-year retention period for Vincent materials?
  4. What list price, seat minimum, and renewal term apply after a discretionary free trial?
  5. What benchmark or review method does vLex use to test hallucinations in multi-jurisdiction research?

Accuracy evidence

Related incidents

No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-03.

Ownership · Acquired by Clio for $1B (announced June 2025, closed Nov 2025) alongside Clio's $500M Series G at a $5B valuation; vLex SOC 2 obtained Jan 2025 (type unspecified).

Sources

Report an issue with this record →

Cite this record

SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Vincent AI", safelegalai.com/tools/vincent-ai (last checked 2026-09-03, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.

What the vendor has announced, dated

  1. Vincent adds Skills and Persistent Memory · Feature release
  2. Clio and Perplexity announce Vincent connector · Partnership
  3. Minnesota public defense system selects Vincent by Clio · Named deployment

First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.

Documented facts, side by side

Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.

Also in Legal research

SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.

Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.