Legal Tech / Drafting & general assistants
Wordsmith
Wordsmith AI Ltd · HQ GB · Last checked 2026-09-03
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
AI platform for in-house legal teams to capture, triage and resolve requests, review contracts and research inside Word, Teams and Slack; iManage partnership (Sept 2026).
- Category
- Drafting & general assistants · in-house intake and triage, contract review, Word, Teams and Slack integration
- Built for
- In-house legal
- Model providers (disclosed)
- OpenAI, Anthropic, Google
- Data residency options
- EU, US
- Pricing
- enterprise
- Markets
- UK, EU, US
- Last checked
- 03 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
Wordsmith's homepage describes AI for in-house legal teams, and its pages describe work in Word, Teams and Slack. The privacy policy, last updated 31 October 2024, names OpenAI, Anthropic and Google as providers. The security page says customer data is not used to train Wordsmith's AI models and says prompts and outputs are not stored, logged or used for model training by any provider. It also states zero data retention across every provider, SOC 2 Type II certification, 72-hour breach notification, SAML 2.0 and OIDC SSO, annual independent penetration testing, configurable retention, and ISO 27001 certification in progress. The terms of service, also last updated 31 October 2024, include a Data Processing Agreement and England and Wales governing law. The pricing page says reports can be tried on a free trial and refers to pro or enterprise plans, but it does not publish a list price or seat minimum. It says citations help checking AI outputs.
In the vendor's words
“OpenAI, Anthropic, Google”
“does not use customer data to train its AI models”
“Zero data retention across every provider.”
“notified within 72 hours”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
Not published on the pages we read on 2026-09-06: subprocessor names and regions, data-residency locations, list price, minimum term, seat minimum, ISO 42001, private deployment terms, and an accuracy benchmark beyond citations. A law-firm procurement or DPIA process would normally need those details for client-confidentiality exposure, GDPR Article 28 subprocessor review, cross-border transfers, fee approval, retention governance, and supervision of contract and intake outputs.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which subprocessors process customer prompts, documents, or integrations, and in which countries?
- Where is customer data stored for EU, UK, and US customers?
- What list price, seat minimum, and paid term apply to pro and enterprise plans?
- What does Wordsmith measure when it says citations help users check AI outputs?
- What is the target date and scope for the ISO 27001 certification listed as in progress?
Accuracy evidence
No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-03.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-03.
Ownership · ISO 27001 'in progress' per security page.
Sources
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Wordsmith", safelegalai.com/tools/wordsmith (last checked 2026-09-03, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
What the vendor has announced, dated
- Wordsmith appoints Simon McCarthy · Leadership
- iManage and Wordsmith AI partner · Integration
- Wordsmith adds enterprise controls · Feature release
- Wordsmith launches Intake · Product launch
- Wordsmith extends Series B · Funding as announced
- Wordsmith introduces Privacy Office · Feature release
- Wordsmith describes private-capital agents · Feature release
- Wordsmith releases Redline Review · Feature release
- Selfridges uses Wordsmith · Named deployment
- Wordsmith describes payments agents · Feature release
- Wordsmith describes financial-services agents · Feature release
- Starling selects Wordsmith · Named deployment
First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.
Documented facts, side by side
- Wordsmith and DeepIP
- Wordsmith and Definely
- Wordsmith and DraftWise
- Wordsmith and Harvey
- Wordsmith and Legora
Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.
Also in Drafting & general assistants
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
