Legal Tech / Contract review & due diligence
Spellbook
Spellbook (Rally Legal Inc.) · HQ CA · Last checked 2026-09-03
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
Word add-in and 'Associate' agent for transactional lawyers to draft, review and redline contracts; 4,500+ teams in 80+ countries; zero-retention agreements with OpenAI and Anthropic.
Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.
- Category
- Contract review & due diligence · Word add-in, contract drafting, review, redlining, playbooks
- Built for
- Small firms & solos, Mid-sized firms, In-house legal
- Model providers (disclosed)
- OpenAI, Anthropic
- Data residency options
- CA, US
- Pricing
- per-seat
- Markets
- CANADA, US
- Last checked
- 03 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
Spellbook's pricing page describes a Word Add-In for law firms and in-house legal teams, with pricing determined by the number of team members. It offers a 7-day trial and free access for academic institutions, but the audit found no published list price, minimum term or seat minimum. The security page names OpenAI and Anthropic and says Spellbook negotiated zero-data-retention agreements with both. It also says customer data in requests and responses with those LLMs is not persisted and exists only in memory to process a request. The terms of service, updated July 27, 2026, state that customer data sent to third-party LLMs will not be used to train, improve or develop those models. The security page states customer data is stored and processed in Canada and US data centres, lists SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, GDPR and EU AI Act compliance, and says a subprocessor list is in the Trust Center.
In the vendor's words
“agreements with both OpenAI and Anthropic for zero data retention (ZDR)”
“will not be used to train, improve, or develop”
“data centers in Canada and US”
“Pricing is determined by the number of team members”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
Not published on the pages we read on 2026-09-06: DPA availability, list price, minimum term, seat minimum, encryption-at-rest terms, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, private deployment and accuracy evidence. Procurement and DPIA reviewers normally need these for fee approval, client-confidentiality controls, GDPR Article 28 processor terms, hosting and subprocessor review, and supervision of drafted or redlined contract output.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which Trust Center subprocessors handle prompts, contract text, playbooks and Word Add-In telemetry for US and Canadian customers?
- Is a DPA available, and does it cover OpenAI and Anthropic processing under the zero-data-retention agreements?
- What retention period applies inside Spellbook before data is sent to third-party LLMs?
- What test sets or review processes measure drafting, redlining and playbook-compliance accuracy?
- What list price, minimum term and seat minimum apply to law firms and in-house teams?
Accuracy evidence
No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-03.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-03.
Ownership · Venture-backed; rounds not listed on vendor press page. No-training pledge is implied via ZDR terms rather than stated explicitly.
Sources
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Spellbook", safelegalai.com/tools/spellbook (last checked 2026-09-03, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
What the vendor has announced, dated
- Spellbook introduces AI Document Editor · Feature release
- Spellbook introduces Google Docs integration · Integration
- Spellbook introduces Autonomous Contract Management · Product launch
First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.
Also in Contract review & due diligence
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
