Legal Tech / Contract review & due diligence
Zuva DocAI
Zuva Inc. · HQ CA · Last checked 2026-09-03
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
Proprietary contract AI (1,400+ provisions) from the original Kira team; DocAI API embedded in Conga; website now leads with a sell-side M&A diligence service.
Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.
- Category
- Contract review & due diligence · contract intelligence API, AI extraction, M&A diligence
- Built for
- In-house legal, Large firms
- Model providers (disclosed)
- own
- Data residency options
- US, EU
- Pricing
- usage · Pay-as-you-go plan has a $5,000 minimum commitment
- Markets
- CANADA, US
- Last checked
- 03 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
Zuva's DocAI page redirects to an API page describing a REST API for extracting structured data from contracts. The page distinguishes Zuva's clause-extraction models from general LLM prompting and says Zuva's extraction is trained on legal provisions. The public pages did not name outside model providers. The API page states SOC 2 Type II certification, Azure cloud hosting with customer choice of region, usually U.S. or EU, and self-hosting on Azure or AWS out of the box. It says customers set retention, including immediate deletion after processing, a set period or other customer-defined periods. The terms page was last updated 5 June 2026 and is governed by Ontario law. Pricing is published for pay-as-you-go with a $5,000 minimum commitment and a free tier that resets daily. Accuracy material is vendor language about consistent, high-recall extraction and training using many hours of legal work; no independent test is published.
In the vendor's words
“A REST API for extracting structured data from contracts”
“Zuva is SOC 2 Type II certified.”
“You set your own data retention policy: documents can be deleted immediately after processing, retained for a set period, or anything in between.”
“The pay-as-you-go plan has a $5,000 minimum commitment.”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
Not published on the pages we read on 2026-09-06: DPA terms, a subprocessor list, outside model-provider names, no-training-on-customer-data terms, encryption-at-rest wording, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, SSO, a minimum term, seat floor and an independent accuracy study. Contract datasets can hold client confidential terms and personal data, so legal procurement normally asks for processor terms, hosting regions, retention evidence and validation methods.
Questions to put to the vendor
- If no model providers are named, is all clause extraction performed by Zuva-owned models?
- Can Zuva provide a DPA and subprocessor list for cloud-hosted API processing?
- Which Azure regions are available for U.S. and EU hosting, and who can access them?
- Does self-hosting on AWS or Azure include all 1,400-plus provision models?
- What validation method supports the high-recall clause extraction statement?
Accuracy evidence
No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-03.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-03.
Ownership · Kira Systems founders retained the AI technology after Kira's sale to Litera.
Sources
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Zuva DocAI", safelegalai.com/tools/zuva (last checked 2026-09-03, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
Also in Contract review & due diligence
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
