Skip to content

Legal Tech / Practice management AI

Actionstep Intelligence

Actionstep · HQ US · Last checked 2026-09-04

Visit website

Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.

AI layer inside Actionstep (Aug 2026) giving mid-size firms business insights and executing approved operational and financial workflows; Trace AI time capture and Scout support assistant.

Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.

Category
Practice management AI · firm insights, AI time capture (Trace), support assistant (Scout), agentic workflows
Built for
Mid-sized firms
Model providers (disclosed)
Not disclosed
Data residency options
USA, Singapore, EU, Australia, New Zealand
Pricing
per-seat
Markets
US, UK, AUSTRALIA, NZ, CANADA
Last checked
04 Sept 2026

What the vendor documents

Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.

No training on customer data
not disclosedsource
SOC 2
documented yessource
ISO 27001
not disclosedsource
ISO 42001
not disclosedsource
Zero retention with model providers
not disclosedsource
DPA offered
documented yessource
Private deployment
not disclosedsource

What the public documentation states

Actionstep's pricing page and August 2026 release describe Actionstep Intelligence for midsize law firms, including Trace time capture across Outlook, Word and desktop tools and approved operational or financial work with human oversight and audit trails. The pricing page states per-user pricing plus implementation fees and Request Pricing, but no list price. The FAQ says Actionstep is a cloud-based AWS service, has no need for a local server, and lets customers choose hosting in the USA, Singapore, EU, Australia or New Zealand. The FAQ and SOC 2 article state a SOC 2 Type 2 examination, with Prescient Assurance named in the article. The privacy policy is last updated March 3, 2026. The terms, last updated 14-April-2026, refer to a Data Processing Agreement, annual audits, and deletion of customer data after 30 days following termination. The audit did not find named model providers, subprocessor list, no-training statement, zero-retention terms, ISO 27001, ISO 42001 or accuracy metrics.

In the vendor's words

“Priced per user plus implementation fees”
Pricing page
“USA, Singapore, EU, Australia, or New Zealand”
FAQ page
“completed a SOC 2® Type 2 examination”
FAQ page
“Entries are not posted automatically”
Actionstep Intelligence release

Not disclosed on public pages

"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.

Not published on the pages we read on 2026-09-06: named model providers, subprocessor names and regions, list price, minimum term, seat minimum, no-training-on-customer-data terms, zero-retention terms, private deployment terms, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, and accuracy testing. Procurement and DPIA reviewers normally need those items for client-confidentiality review, GDPR Article 28 subprocessor terms, cross-border hosting choices, fee approval, and supervision of AI-drafted time entries or operational tasks.

Questions to put to the vendor

  1. Which AI model providers process Actionstep Intelligence prompts, time entries, or matter data?
  2. Which subprocessors handle customer data in each hosting region listed in the FAQ?
  3. Do Actionstep Intelligence features use customer data for model training or product improvement?
  4. What list price, seat minimum, and minimum term apply to Intelligence and Trace?
  5. What testing measures accuracy for AI-drafted time entries, matter matching, and approved operational workflows?

Accuracy evidence

Related incidents

No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-04.

Ownership · Private; SOC 2 Type 2 examination completed Feb 2026 (Prescient Assurance).

Sources

Report an issue with this record →

Cite this record

SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Actionstep Intelligence", safelegalai.com/tools/actionstep-intelligence (last checked 2026-09-04, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.

What the vendor has announced, dated

  1. Actionstep releases Actionstep Intelligence · Product launch

First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.

Also in Practice management AI

SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.

Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.