Legal Tech / Practice management AI
Clio Duo
Clio (Themis Solutions Inc.) · HQ CA · founded 2008 · Last checked 2026-09-11
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
Generative-AI assistant inside Clio Manage that surfaces client and matter details, summarises documents, recommends tasks, drafts communications and logs all AI actions.
Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.
- Category
- Practice management AI · matter assistant, document summarisation, task recommendation, drafting
- Built for
- Small firms & solos, Mid-sized firms
- Model providers (disclosed)
- OpenAI, Anthropic, Google
- Data residency options
- US, CA, EU, AU
- Pricing
- per-seat · Clio plans start at $49 USD per user per month
- Markets
- US, CANADA, EU, AUSTRALIA, UK
- Last checked
- 11 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
Clio's legal AI page, reached from Duo, says Clio Manage uses AI to recommend next steps and create tasks, notes, events, expenses and file names. The Clio subprocessor page states these are providers Clio uses to store, process and run customer data. For Clio Manage and Clio Work, AI service providers named are AWS Bedrock in the United States and European Union, Anthropic in the United States, OpenAI in the United States and European Union, Google Vertex AI in the United States, European Union, Canada and Australia, and Microsoft Azure Foundry in the United States and European Union. The Themis DPA applies to EEA and UK personal data, authorizes listed subprocessors, requires Security Incident notice within 72 hours, and says data is returned or deleted within 90 days after termination. The Trust Centre shows SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, Audit Logging and Disk Encryption entries. The pricing page says Clio plans start at $49 USD per user per month, but the audit and fetched pages did not publish a Duo-specific price, no-training or zero-retention wording, ISO 27001 or ISO 42001 statements, private deployment, or accuracy evidence.
In the vendor's words
“Deliver smart recommendations on what to work on next”
“If Themis becomes aware of a Security Incident, Themis will (a) notify Subscriber of the Security Incident within 72 hours”
“SOC 2 Type 2”
“Clio’s plans start at $49 USD per user per month.”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
Not published on pages we read on 2026-09-11: Duo-specific list price, seat minimum, minimum term, free trial, a Duo-specific training-on-customer-data commitment, zero-retention terms, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, private deployment, SSO/SAML, and accuracy method. Procurement and DPIA files normally need those points to assess client confidentiality, retention, processor terms under GDPR Art. 28, and competence and supervision duties.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which Clio AI providers will process Clio Duo or Clio Manage matter data, and in which selected region?
- Is customer data used to train or fine-tune Clio Duo models, including evaluation data?
- What prompt and output retention applies before the DPA termination deletion clause?
- Can you provide the current SOC 2 Type 2 report and any ISO 27001 or ISO 42001 status for Duo?
- What Duo price, seat floor, contract term, and trial terms apply?
Accuracy evidence
- vendor'Advanced guardrails' and real-time monitoring (vendor, via LawNext) No accuracy metrics published.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-11.
Ownership · $900M Series F at $3B; $500M Series G at $5B (Nov 2025); acquired vLex for $1B (2025). Also HIPAA, TX-RAMP.
Sources
- Clio — Trust Centre
- Clio — Duo / legal AI software
- Clio — Pricing
- Clio — Subprocessors
- Clio — Data Protection Addendum
- LawNext — Clio Duo launch (Oct 2024)
- Clio — completes vLex acquisition and Series G
- SafeLegalAI documentation audit, 2026-09-06: every fact with its quote, source page and archived copy
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Clio Duo", safelegalai.com/tools/clio-duo (last checked 2026-09-11, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
What the vendor has announced, dated
- Clio launches Legal AI Accelerator training program · Certification
First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.
Also in Practice management AI
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
