Legal Tech / Practice management AI
Docketwise (8am IQ)
8am (AffiniPay) · HQ US · Last checked 2026-09-21
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
Immigration practice management with 8am IQ AI document capture and a writing/translation assistant on Pro and Advanced tiers; disclosed an October 2025 data breach affecting sensitive client data.
Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.
- Category
- Practice management AI · immigration, case management, form automation, AI document assistant, AI writing assistant
- Built for
- Small firms & solos, Mid-sized firms
- Model providers (disclosed)
- OpenAI
- Data residency options
- Not disclosed
- Pricing
- per-seat · Yearly plans: Basic $80, Pro $100, Advanced $120 per user/month; monthly plans: $90/$120/$140 respectively (checked 2026-09-21; AI on Pro/Advanced)
- Markets
- US
- Last checked
- 21 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
Docketwise describes 8am IQ as an AI feature for immigration practices, with legal writing, translation, document analysis and form preparation. The support FAQ says it uses OpenAI’s API platform rather than consumer ChatGPT. The 8am terms updated August 2026 state that Customer Content or IQ Content is not used to train or fine-tune large language models, while the same terms say LLMs may retain IQ Content for up to 30 days. The Data Security article lists SOC certifications in its Amazon S3 hosting discussion without establishing a Docketwise audit scope, so SOC 2 remains unknown. The security page confirms AES-256 encryption of stored data. Pricing was published on the Docketwise pricing page: Basic, Pro and Advanced monthly or yearly plans, with AI on Pro and Advanced and a free trial. The AI feature page states more accurate outputs for legal writing and form preparation; the method behind that claim was not published.
In the vendor's words
“Docketwise IQ does not use the consumer version of ChatGPT, but rather OpenAI’s API platform.”
“We do not use Customer Content or IQ Content to train or fine-tune any large language model”
“may retain IQ Content for up to thirty (30) days”
“SOC 1, 2 and 3 Certified”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
On the pages we read on 2026-09-21, the audit did not find a DPA, public sub-processor list, seat minimum, data-residency commitment, ISO 27001 or ISO 42001 statement, private deployment option, SAML SSO statement or accuracy method. A law-firm procurement or DPIA file would normally ask for these points to map client confidentiality, GDPR Art. 28 processor terms, breach handling, access control and competence or supervision duties.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which OpenAI API region or processing path handles IQ Content for matters with sensitive immigration data?
- Can you provide the DPA and sub-processor list that were not public on the pages read on 2026-09-21?
- How is the 30-day LLM retention period applied to prompts, uploaded documents and generated forms?
- What testing supports the stated more accurate outputs for legal writing and form preparation?
- Is SAML SSO available on Pro or Advanced plans, and where is that commitment documented?
Accuracy evidence
No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-21.
Related incidents
Ownership · Owned by AffiniPay, rebranding as 8am (also MyCase, LawPay, CASEpeer).
Sources
- Docketwise — Security
- Docketwise — Pricing
- Docketwise — Data incident notice
- 8am — Privacy policy
- SafeLegalAI documentation audit, 2026-09-06: every fact with its quote, source page and archived copy
- 8am — Terms of Service, updated August 2026
- Docketwise — IQ FAQs
- Docketwise — Data security and hosting scope
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Docketwise (8am IQ)", safelegalai.com/tools/docketwise (last checked 2026-09-21, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
Also in Practice management AI
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
