Legal Tech / Practice management AI
Filevine AI
Filevine · HQ US · founded 2014 · Last checked 2026-09-22
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
Suite of AI features in Filevine's case management platform: AIFields extraction, DemandsAI demand letters, ImmigrationAI form filling, Depo CoPilot, Chat with Your Case and AI Doc Review.
- Category
- Practice management AI · document extraction, demand letters, immigration forms, deposition analysis, case chat, AI drafting
- Built for
- Small firms & solos, Mid-sized firms, In-house legal
- Model providers (disclosed)
- Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, xAI
- Data residency options
- US
- Pricing
- per-seat
- Markets
- US
- Last checked
- 22 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
Filevine’s AI features page describes document extraction, demand-letter drafting, immigration form filling, deposition analysis, case chat and document review inside Filevine’s case-management platform. The 23 April 2026 sub-processor page names AI-related subprocessors Anthropic, AssemblyAI, Deepgram, Google, Humanloop, OpenAI and xAI. The 7 August 2026 Security Addendum says subscriber data is stored and processed in United States data centres by default unless a different region is agreed. The 12 August 2026 Subscription Agreement says model-provider contracts prohibit using subscriber data to train or improve models, with temporary retention only for abuse monitoring or trust-and-safety. The security page states SOC 2 Type I and II reports, AES-256 at rest, SSO and HIPAA compliance efforts. The Security Addendum lists audits against ISO 27001, 27701, 27017, 27018 and 42001 frameworks. The pricing page still states “Start Free Trial” and custom packages, but no price or seat minimum. The pricing page states “Fact-level accuracy,” but this reread found no published method.
In the vendor's words
“prohibiting those providers from using Subscriber’s Data to train or improve their models”
“except for temporary retention solely for abuse-monitoring or trust-and-safety purposes”
“stored and processed in data centers located in the United States”
“All packages are custom built for your team's needs.”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
On pages read on 2026-09-22, Filevine did not publish a list price, minimum term, seat minimum, accuracy method or private-deployment option. The current security text describes assessment against ISO frameworks, including ISO 27001 and ISO 42001, rather than a certificate number on the public page. Procurement and DPIA review normally needs those points to document fee exposure, user scope, hosting options, client-confidentiality safeguards and GDPR Article 28 processor assurances.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which of Anthropic, AssemblyAI, Deepgram, Google, Humanloop, OpenAI and xAI process client matter data for each Filevine AI feature?
- What temporary retention periods do AI providers apply for abuse-monitoring or trust-and-safety purposes?
- Can Filevine contract for a non-US processing region, and which subprocessors change for that configuration?
- What benchmark or review method supports the pricing page's fact-level accuracy statement?
- Does the ISO 42001 framework audit produce a certificate or only an internal control mapping?
Accuracy evidence
No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-22.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-22.
Ownership · $400M raised across two rounds incl. $260M Series E (Sept 2025; Insight Partners, Accel, Halo Fund) at ~$3B. ISO 27001 audit completed, certificate pending; FedRAMP Moderate being pursued.
Sources
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Filevine AI", safelegalai.com/tools/filevine-ai (last checked 2026-09-22, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
What the vendor has announced, dated
- Filevine adds citator features to LOIS Legal Research · Feature release
- Filevine offers LOIS Legal Research 90-day trial · Pricing
- Filevine partners with Codes Health for LOIS · Partnership
- Filevine launches LOIS Legal Research · Product launch
- Filevine introduces LOIS Console · Product launch
First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.
Documented facts, side by side
Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.
Also in Practice management AI
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
