Skip to content

Legal Tech / Practice management AI

LEAP Matter AI / LawY

LEAP Legal Software · HQ AU · Last checked 2026-10-07

Visit website

Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.

Matter AI answers questions from the open matter, drafts and compares documents using OpenAI and Anthropic models; LawY gives legal-research answers verifiable by qualified lawyers in-jurisdiction.

Category
Practice management AI · matter assistant, drafting, legal research (LawY lawyer-verified answers), AI time tracking
Built for
Small firms & solos, Mid-sized firms
Model providers (disclosed)
OpenAI, Anthropic
Data residency options
AU, UK, IE, US, CA
Pricing
per-seat · Matter AI included in every LEAP subscription at no extra cost
Markets
AUSTRALIA, NZ, UK, IRELAND, US, CANADA
Last checked
07 Oct 2026

What the vendor documents

Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.

No training on customer data
documented yessource
SOC 2
documented yessource
ISO 27001
not disclosedsource
ISO 42001
not disclosedsource
Zero retention with model providers
not disclosedsource
DPA offered
documented yessource
Private deployment
documented nosource

What the public documentation states

LEAP describes Matter AI as a Word add-in for drafting legal documents with more than 200 AI prompts, and the audit records LawY's legal-research claim as lawyer-in-the-loop verification. LEAP's third-party terms, current from 1 August 2026, identify Matter AI powered by Corto; the checked public pages did not name the underlying foundation-model providers. The security page states that client data is primarily hosted in the firm's selected region and lists AU/NZ on AWS Sydney, plus UK, Ireland, US and Canada; it also says some AI features may use US service-provider processing. The same page states that client data is not used to train AI, gives SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 certification, and says ISO/IEC 27001:2022 is aligned with formal certification in progress. The DPA page publishes a UK and Ireland data-processing agreement. The audit did not find public price, seat, trial or term figures, and found no accuracy method behind the LawY verification statement.

In the vendor's words

“Matter AI powered by Corto”
LEAP Third Party Terms, current from 1 August 2026
“Client data is primarily hosted in your firm's selected region.”
LEAP Security
“Client data is not used to train AI.”
LEAP Security
“SOC 2 Type II : Certified”
LEAP Security

Not disclosed on public pages

"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.

Not published on the pages we read on 2026-09-06: an accuracy testing method, privacy-policy date, sub-processor list, public price or seat minimum, ISO 42001 statement, private deployment option, SSO detail and zero-retention term. A procurement file or DPIA normally records those items to map client-confidentiality controls, SRA/ABA supervision and competence checks, and GDPR Art. 28 processor oversight.

Questions to put to the vendor

  1. Which entities in the Corto-powered Matter AI service process client matter data, and in which region?
  2. For AI features that may transfer limited client data to the US, which data categories and retention periods apply?
  3. When will the sub-processor list that rendered as Coming Soon be published?
  4. What accuracy testing supports the LawY lawyer-in-the-loop verification statement?
  5. Is zero retention available for prompts, files and generated drafts?

Accuracy evidence

Related incidents

Ownership · Private (LEAP Group). Some AI features may transfer limited client data to the US for processing; ISO 27001 'aligned; certification in progress'.

Sources

Report an issue with this record →

Cite this record

SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "LEAP Matter AI / LawY", safelegalai.com/tools/leap-matter-ai (last checked 2026-10-07, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.

Documented facts, side by side

Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.

Also in Practice management AI

SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.

Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.