Legal Tech / Litigation analytics & case prediction
Clearbrief
Clearbrief, Inc. · HQ US · founded 2020 · Last checked 2026-09-11
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
Microsoft Word add-in that checks citations against the record, builds hyperlinked exhibits and timelines and drafts with source-linked AI; MyCase and AAA integrations; bring-your-own-storage option.
Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.
- Category
- Litigation analytics & case prediction · Word add-in, citation checking, brief drafting, hyperlinked exhibits, timelines
- Built for
- Small firms & solos, Mid-sized firms, Courts
- Model providers (disclosed)
- Not disclosed
- Data residency options
- United States
- Pricing
- per-seat · Solo $300/month per user; Enterprise Unlimited custom
- Markets
- US
- Last checked
- 11 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
Clearbrief's pricing page describes a Microsoft Word add-in for legal-grade AI, citation checking, AI-powered fact-checking, hyperlinked evidence and real-time output validation. The privacy policy last updated 22 January 2021 says service data is hosted on servers in the United States. The pricing page says customer data is never used for training large language models and identifies SOC 2, Type 2 certification, but the audit did not find ISO 27001 or ISO 42001 statements. It also says customers can bring their own storage. The terms give Clearbrief a license to use submitted information to operate and improve the service, including to improve how the Clearbrief Services work and look. The pricing page publishes Solo at $300 per user per month and Enterprise Unlimited as custom, and the terms imply a trial period. The vendor states AI fact-checking and real-time verification, but the audit did not find a published external benchmark or named model provider.
In the vendor's words
“Your data is never used for training large language models”
“SOC 2, Type 2 Certified”
“$300 /month Per user per month”
“hosted on servers located in the United States”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
Not published on the pages we read on 2026-09-11: a DPA, model-provider list, sub-processor list, terms update date, minimum term, seat minimum, encryption-at-rest statement, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, private deployment, SSO/SAML and zero-retention commitment. Law firm procurement and DPIA files normally need these points for client confidentiality, processor terms under GDPR Art. 28, retention controls and competence or supervision duties.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which model providers process Word documents, evidence and validation outputs, and in which locations?
- Can you provide the current DPA, sub-processor list and SOC 2 Type 2 report under NDA?
- What retention period applies to uploaded records, prompts, draft text, validation outputs and logs?
- What encryption-at-rest, SSO/SAML and breach-notification terms apply to legal matter data?
- What seat floor and minimum contract term apply to Solo and Enterprise Unlimited subscriptions?
Accuracy evidence
No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-11.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-11.
Ownership · Private; SOC 2 report available on request.
Sources
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Clearbrief", safelegalai.com/tools/clearbrief (last checked 2026-09-11, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
Also in Litigation analytics & case prediction
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
