Legal Tech / Litigation analytics & case prediction
Eve
Butler Labs, Inc. (Eve Legal) · HQ US · Last checked 2026-09-21
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
AI platform for plaintiff-side firms covering intake, medical chronologies, demand drafting and case analysis; security documentation lists US-hosted AWS databases.
- Category
- Litigation analytics & case prediction · plaintiff case management, demand letters, medical chronologies, intake
- Built for
- Small firms & solos, Mid-sized firms
- Model providers (disclosed)
- AWS, GCP, OpenAI, Anthropic
- Data residency options
- US
- Pricing
- per-seat
- Markets
- US
- Last checked
- 21 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
Eve identifies its operator as Butler Labs, Inc. Its security page states that AWS databases are in the United States and encrypted at rest; the subprocessor list names AWS, GCP, OpenAI and Anthropic as LLM providers. The separate security-and-compliance page claims SOC II Type 2 certification and HIPAA compliance. The public DPA requires access to a current SOC 2 Type II or equivalent report on request and provides a 72-hour incident-notification deadline. Eve says documents, prompts and outputs do not train central, foundational models. Its current MSA prohibits public-model training by third-party providers and defaults to ZDR-enabled third-party models unless the customer authorizes otherwise. ZDR expressly concerns model inputs, not storage by Eve's service. The MSA permits trials but does not promise their availability; no current version date was found. The privacy page prints an effective date of January 1, 2021.
In the vendor's words
“Customer authorizes Eve to engage the following Subprocessors:”
“Neither your document, prompts, or outputs are used to train central, foundational models.”
“Zero-retention API”
“Zero Data Retention refers to the model’s retention of Input, and not to the Service’s retention of Input.”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
On pages read on 2026-09-21, we did not find ISO 27001 or ISO 42001 certification, a current MSA version date, public list prices, a promised trial, customer SAML SSO or private deployment. Request the actual SOC report and a BAA where required; marketing HIPAA compliance does not replace that agreement. Confirm service-level storage and deletion separately from model-endpoint ZDR, and require a documented accuracy evaluation.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which sub-processors process medical records, and in which region for each model provider?
- Which signed DPA and BAA terms apply to our matters, and how do they interact with the MSA's restrictions on HIPAA-regulated data?
- What does the zero-retention API cover: prompts, uploaded documents, outputs, logs or all four?
- Which SOC II Type 2 report period and auditor cover Eve's production environment?
- What testing method is used before output is shown in demand letters or medical chronologies?
Accuracy evidence
No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-21.
Related incidents
Ownership · $103M Series B at a $1B+ valuation led by Spark Capital (Sept 2025); $164M raised.
Sources
- Eve — Security
- PR Newswire — Eve $103M at $1B valuation
- Artificial Lawyer — Eve funding
- SafeLegalAI documentation audit, 2026-09-06: every fact with its quote, source page and archived copy
- Eve — Security and compliance claims
- Eve — Data Processing Addendum
- Eve — Master Service Agreement
- Eve — Subprocessors
- Eve — Privacy policy
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Eve", safelegalai.com/tools/eve-legal (last checked 2026-09-21, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
Documented facts, side by side
Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.
Also in Litigation analytics & case prediction
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
