Legal Tech / Litigation analytics & case prediction
Docket Alarm
Clio (via vLex) · HQ CA · founded 2012 · acquired · Last checked 2026-09-21
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
Search and track over one billion federal, state, PTAB, USPTO and international filings with litigation analytics; part of Clio.
Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.
- Category
- Litigation analytics & case prediction · docket tracking, court filings database, litigation analytics, PTAB/USPTO, Vincent AI integration
- Built for
- Small firms & solos, Mid-sized firms, Large firms, In-house legal
- Model providers (disclosed)
- Not disclosed
- Data residency options
- Not disclosed
- Pricing
- per-seat · Flat-Fee $99/user/month; Pay-As-You-Go $39.99/month + $4/document; court fees extra
- Markets
- US
- Last checked
- 21 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
Docket Alarm describes a searchable database of over one billion court filings and identifies itself as part of Clio. Its pricing page lists Flat-Fee at $99 per user per month and Pay-As-You-Go at $39.99 per month plus usage charges; PACER and state-court fees are separate. Plans are month-to-month, and Enterprise pricing for teams of five or more includes SSO. The privacy policy describes AES-256 encryption for payment details, not all stored case data. The Clio trust page and vLex security article publish vLex/Vincent SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 claims, but do not establish Docket Alarm coverage. We therefore do not inherit those certifications, vLex hosting regions or retention settings. Clio's subprocessor page returned HTTP 403 on 2026-09-21, so model-provider claims were not reverified.
In the vendor's words
“Docket Alarm puts U.S. court filings in one searchable place.”
“$99 per user / month”
“No commitment. All plans are month-to-month.”
“everything is encrypted with AES-256.”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
Not published on pages we read on 2026-09-21: public DPA, privacy or terms update dates, Docket Alarm-specific SOC 2, ISO 27001 or ISO 42001 statements, training-on-customer-data terms, zero-retention terms, data residency commitments, private deployment, and accuracy method for summarization or extraction. A law firm would normally need those points to assess client confidentiality, GDPR Art. 28 processor terms, retention, and supervision of docket summaries.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which legal entity and DPA govern Docket Alarm after the Clio and vLex acquisition?
- Which processors besides Google and OpenAI process searches, prompts, filings, and account data, and in which regions?
- Does Docket Alarm use customer searches, prompts, or documents to train AI models?
- Which SOC 2 or ISO certificates cover Docket Alarm itself, rather than another vLex or Clio product?
- What accuracy testing exists for the Complaint Summarizer and Cause of Action Extractor?
Accuracy evidence
No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-21.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-21.
Ownership · Fastcase merged with vLex (2023); Clio acquired vLex for $1B (2025).
Sources
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Docket Alarm", safelegalai.com/tools/docket-alarm (last checked 2026-09-21, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
Also in Litigation analytics & case prediction
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
