Skip to content

Legal Tech / Contract lifecycle (CLM)

Docusign Intelligent Agreement Management (Docusign AI)

Docusign, Inc. · HQ US · founded 2003 · Last checked 2026-09-21

Visit website

Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.

Agreement platform combining Docusign CLM, eSignature and AI agreement workflows; public certification documentation states ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II.

Category
Contract lifecycle (CLM) · CLM, eSignature, agreement AI
Built for
In-house legal, Mid-sized firms, Small firms & solos
Model providers (disclosed)
Not disclosed
Data residency options
Not disclosed
Pricing
per-seat · Previously audited 2026-09-06: IAM Starter $45/user/month; Standard $50; Professional $80. Not reverified 2026-09-21.
Markets
US
Last checked
21 Sept 2026

What the vendor documents

Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.

No training on customer data
documented nosource
SOC 2
documented yessource
ISO 27001
documented yessource
ISO 42001
not disclosedsource
Zero retention with model providers
not disclosedsource
DPA offered
documented yessource
Private deployment
not disclosedsource

What the public documentation states

Docusign's certification page states ISO 27001:2022, ISO 27017:2015 and ISO 27018:2019 certification and annual SOC 1 Type II and SOC 2 Type II audits. We did not re-find ISO 42001 on the trust or certification pages. The AI Attachment dated July 8, 2026 allows Docusign AI training for applicable IAM subscriptions after anonymizing and aggregating Customer Data and AI Output; it does not support a blanket no-training claim. The public Data Protection Attachment remains available. The subprocessor list is dated September 18, 2026. Its account-region storage statement concerns encrypted Customer eDocuments in eSignature, not every IAM AI workflow, so we leave IAM-wide residency unknown. The privacy notice retains its October 9, 2025 version date. Previously recorded IAM prices were not reverified because the checkout page did not return a complete response.

In the vendor's words

“prior to performing Docusign’s AI Training, Docusign will anonymize and aggregate all Customer Data and AI Output”
Docusign AI Attachment for Docusign Services, 8 July 2026
“AI SERVICES MAY PRODUCE AI OUTPUT THAT IS INCORRECT OR OTHERWISE UNDESIRABLE”
Docusign AI Attachment for Docusign Services, 8 July 2026
“stored in the data center region of the account”
Docusign Subprocessors List, 18 September 2026
“SOC 1 Type II and SOC 2 Type II”
Docusign Certifications

Not disclosed on public pages

"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.

On the pages we read on 2026-09-21, the audit did not find model providers, an ISO 42001 statement, a private deployment option, a zero-retention term or a published accuracy method. A firm reviewing agreement data would normally need those items to assess client confidentiality, AI training opt-outs, GDPR Art. 28 processor controls, region limits and professional duties to review AI output.

Questions to put to the vendor

  1. Which model providers process Customer Data or AI Output for each IAM AI feature?
  2. How can a customer opt out of Docusign AI Training under the 8 July 2026 AI Attachment?
  3. Which account data center regions are available for UK or EU agreement data?
  4. Does any IAM AI feature offer zero retention for prompts, agreement text or AI Output?
  5. Where is the ISO 42001 scope for Docusign IAM published, if it applies?

Accuracy evidence

No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-21.

Related incidents

No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-21.

Ownership · Public company (NASDAQ: DOCU); acquired Lexion May 2024 (~$165M).

Sources

Report an issue with this record →

Cite this record

SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Docusign Intelligent Agreement Management (Docusign AI)", safelegalai.com/tools/docusign-iam (last checked 2026-09-21, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.

What the vendor has announced, dated

  1. Docusign publishes iCIMS CLM and AI customer story · Named deployment
  2. Docusign publishes Mark T. Hurt IAM customer story · Named deployment
  3. Docusign publishes Vestwell CLM customer story · Named deployment

First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.

Documented facts, side by side

Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.

Also in Contract lifecycle (CLM)

SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.

Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.