DoNotPay
DoNotPay, Inc. · HQ US · founded 2015 · Last checked 2026-09-21
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
Consumer self-help app with 100+ AI tools, formerly marketed as a 'robot lawyer'; subject to a 2025 FTC order over deceptive AI claims ($193,000; barred from unsubstantiated lawyer-substitute claims).
Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.
- Category
- Consumer legal · consumer self-help, subscription cancellation, bill negotiation, document generation
- Built for
- Consumers
- Model providers (disclosed)
- Not disclosed
- Data residency options
- United States
- Pricing
- per-seat
- Markets
- US
- Last checked
- 21 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
DoNotPay's homepage says it is not a law firm and does not provide legal advice. Its terms, last updated 20 April 2024, describe legal information and self-help and state that DoNotPay does not review information for legal accuracy or sufficiency. The privacy policy, last updated 22 August 2023, says personal information may be transferred to, processed, stored and used in the United States. The terms describe subscription services with renewal for additional periods of the same duration as the initial period and conditionally mention free trials, without establishing a current trial offer; we did not find a public list price or seat minimum. The audit did not find model-provider names, a sub-processor list, customer-data training terms, certifications or retention period. The accuracy material is a disclaimer rather than a testing method.
In the vendor's words
“DoNotPay is not a law firm and does not provide legal advice.”
“We do not review any information you provide us for legal accuracy or sufficiency”
“transferred to, processed, stored, and used in the United States”
“automatically renewed for additional periods of the same duration as the Initial Period”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
On the pages we read on 2026-09-21, prices, seat minimum, DPA, model providers, sub-processors, encryption at rest, SOC 2, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, customer-data training, private deployment, SSO, zero retention, retention period and accuracy method were not published. A procurement or DPIA review would ask for them before processing client or consumer legal data because confidentiality, GDPR Art. 28 terms, security controls and supervision duties depend on those details.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which AI model providers process user inputs for the consumer self-help tools?
- What retention period applies to documents and information submitted through the app?
- Can you provide processor terms and a sub-processor list for users subject to GDPR?
- What security controls cover stored user documents, including encryption at rest and SSO?
- What testing, if any, supports legal accuracy for each document or self-help workflow?
Accuracy evidence
- third-partyFTC complaint allegation: no testing to verify the chatbot matched human lawyer expertise Allegation in the FTC's 2024 complaint; distinguish it from a litigated factual finding.
Related incidents
Sources
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "DoNotPay", safelegalai.com/tools/donotpay (last checked 2026-09-21, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
Also in Consumer legal
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
