Skip to content

Legal Tech / Consumer legal

Lawhive

Lawhive Ltd · HQ GB · founded 2020 · Last checked 2026-10-05

Visit website

Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.

Online law firm platform: Lawhive Ltd routes matters to SRA-regulated affiliate Lawhive Legal Ltd and, in the US, Arizona-licensed Lawhive Legal US, LLC; 30,000+ clients; fixed-fee and hourly work.

Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.

Category
Consumer legal · online solicitor marketplace, AI-assisted case handling, fixed-fee services, SRA-regulated ABS
Built for
Consumers, Small firms & solos
Model providers (disclosed)
Not disclosed
Data residency options
outside EEA, cloud data-centre location not controlled
Pricing
usage
Markets
UK, US
Last checked
05 Oct 2026

What the vendor documents

Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.

No training on customer data
not disclosedsource
SOC 2
not disclosed
ISO 27001
not disclosed
ISO 42001
not disclosed
Zero retention with model providers
documented nosource
DPA offered
not disclosedsource
Private deployment
not disclosed

What the public documentation states

Lawhive's UK site describes a modern law firm with 300+ lawyers and 30,000+ clients, and says it combines experienced lawyers with technology. Its footer and terms say Lawhive Ltd is not a law firm and does not provide legal advice, and that its network includes affiliate Lawhive Legal Ltd, authorised and regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority. The US site says Lawhive Legal US, LLC is licensed by the Arizona Supreme Court (licence 70122) and co-counsels with local firms outside Arizona. The privacy policy names Lawhive Ltd as controller and covers matter details, call recordings, identity, financial and case data. It says external third parties may process personal data in the cloud where data-centre location cannot be controlled, that EEA data may be transferred outside the EEA, and that user data is typically kept for six years after a person stops being a user. No named model provider, sub-processor list, certification, DPA, public price list or accuracy claim was published on the pages checked on 2026-10-05; the homepages did not describe how AI is used in matter handling.

In the vendor's words

“Lawhive Ltd is not a law firm and does not provide any legal advice.”
Lawhive Legal feedback and complaints
“Lawhive Legal Ltd is authorised and regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority”
Lawhive Legal feedback and complaints
“in the Cloud in circumstances where the location of data centres cannot be controlled by us”
Lawhive Privacy Policy
“for a period of 6 years after they have ceased to be a user”
Lawhive Privacy Policy

Not disclosed on public pages

"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.

Not published on the pages we read on 2026-10-05: a description of AI use in matter handling, a DPA, named model providers, a named sub-processor list, privacy or terms update dates, list price, free trial, minimum term, seat minimum, SOC 2, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, encryption at rest, customer-data training limits, private deployment, SAML SSO, zero retention, accuracy claim and accuracy method. These points support client-confidentiality review, SRA supervision records, GDPR Art. 28 processor terms and DPIA transfer analysis.

Questions to put to the vendor

  1. Which AI model providers or other processors handle Case Data, call recordings and identity documents?
  2. Which cloud regions may hold personal data when Lawhive says data-centre location cannot be controlled?
  3. Can Lawhive provide processor terms matching GDPR Art. 28 for platform data and solicitor interactions?
  4. Can the six-year retention period be shortened for closed matters or deleted accounts?
  5. What price, minimum term and refund terms apply before a user submits a matter?
  6. Has any SOC 2, ISO 27001 or ISO 42001 audit covered the Lawhive platform?

Accuracy evidence

No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-10-05.

Related incidents

No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-10-05.

Ownership · $40M Series A (Dec 2024); $60M Series B (Feb 2026) led by Mitch Rales with GV, Balderton and TQ Ventures; >$100M raised. Cyber Essentials badge shown.

Sources

Report an issue with this record →

Cite this record

SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Lawhive", safelegalai.com/tools/lawhive (last checked 2026-10-05, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.

Also in Consumer legal

SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.

Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.