Skip to content

Legal Tech / Consumer legal

Garfield.Law

Garfield.Law Limited · HQ GB · founded 2023 · Last checked 2026-09-22

Visit website

Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.

First SRA-authorised law firm delivering legal services solely through AI; automates small-claims debt recovery up to £10,000 for consumers and SMEs; claim records retained 15 years.

Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.

Category
Consumer legal · debt recovery, small claims, SME legal service, AI law firm
Built for
Consumers, Small firms & solos
Model providers (disclosed)
Google Cloud
Data residency options
UK, EU
Pricing
usage · £2 initial chaser letter; £7.50 letter before action
Markets
UK
Last checked
22 Sept 2026

What the vendor documents

Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.

No training on customer data
documented yessource
SOC 2
not disclosedsource
ISO 27001
not disclosedsource
ISO 42001
not disclosedsource
Zero retention with model providers
documented nosource
DPA offered
not disclosedsource
Private deployment
not disclosedsource

What the public documentation states

Garfield.Law's homepage describes recovery of invoices up to £10,000 through the English small claims court, and the legal page identifies Garfield.Law Limited as authorised and regulated by the SRA. The privacy policy dated 12 August 2026 names Google Cloud and Vercel for cloud infrastructure, hosting and AI processing, says AI processing takes place in UK and EU data centres and that core claim and account information is stored in the United Kingdom, and states that AI-provider terms prohibit use of user data to train AI models. The same policy says the public sub-processor list is available on request, and gives retention periods: claim records 15 years, ID six years, accounting seven years, application and error logs 90 days, and security and audit logs 24 months. The pricing chart dated 17 November 2025 publishes per-document fees, including £2 polite chasers, £7.50 letters before action and £50 to £100 claim forms. The terms contain an as-is accuracy disclaimer; no accuracy method was published.

In the vendor's words

“secure Google Cloud environment, in UK and EU data centres”
Garfield.Law Privacy, 12 August 2026
“contractual terms that prohibit the use of your data to train AI models”
Garfield.Law Privacy, 12 August 2026
“A current list of our sub-processors is available on request.”
Garfield.Law Privacy, 12 August 2026
“application and error logs are kept for 90 days, and security and audit logs for 24 months”
Garfield.Law Privacy, 12 August 2026

Not disclosed on public pages

"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.

On the pages we read on 2026-09-06, the audit did not find a DPA, terms update date, free trial, seat minimum, encryption-at-rest statement, SOC 2, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, private deployment option, SAML SSO statement or accuracy method. It also found that sub-processor names are available on request rather than published. A law-firm or regulated-service review would normally request these points for client confidentiality, GDPR Art. 28 flow-downs, access control, retention and SRA supervision.

Questions to put to the vendor

  1. Which Google Cloud and Vercel regions process claim data and AI prompts?
  2. Can you provide the current sub-processor list that the privacy policy says is available on request?
  3. What encryption-at-rest controls apply to claim records retained for 15 years?
  4. Which DPA terms govern Garfield.Law when it acts as controller, processor or authorised law firm?
  5. What human supervision or testing method supports the small-claims content generated for users?

Accuracy evidence

No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-22.

Related incidents

No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-22.

Ownership · SRA-authorised 2025 (SRA no. 8010904); founders Philip Young and Daniel Long.

Sources

Report an issue with this record →

Cite this record

SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Garfield.Law", safelegalai.com/tools/garfield-law (last checked 2026-09-22, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.

What the vendor has announced, dated

  1. Garfield AI reports court trial win using regulated AI lawyer support · Named deployment

First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.

Also in Consumer legal

SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.

Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.