Skip to content

Legal Tech / Practice management AI

MyCase IQ

MyCase (8am / AffiniPay) · HQ US · founded 2010 · Last checked 2026-09-03

Visit website

Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.

Generative-AI features in MyCase (text editing, document summarisation, conversational case Q&A) launched from Jan 2024 under AffiniPay's IQ initiative, built on OpenAI's API.

Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.

Category
Practice management AI · text editing, document summarisation, conversational case assistant
Built for
Small firms & solos, Mid-sized firms
Model providers (disclosed)
OpenAI
Data residency options
Not disclosed
Pricing
per-seat · $50/$60 Basic, $100/$120 Pro, $130/$150 Advanced USD/user/month; add 5,000 Discovery Assistant pages for $30
Markets
US
Last checked
03 Sept 2026

What the vendor documents

Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.

No training on customer data
documented yessource
SOC 2
not disclosedsource
ISO 27001
not disclosedsource
ISO 42001
not disclosedsource
Zero retention with model providers
documented nosource
DPA offered
not disclosedsource
Private deployment
documented nosource

What the public documentation states

MyCase's legal AI page describes MyCase IQ as AI functions inside the MyCase platform and states that it uses a large language model provided by OpenAI through the API platform, not the consumer ChatGPT product. The page says customer data is not used to train OpenAI models and that MyCase IQ does not train MyCase's own AI models. It also says OpenAI may store data for up to 30 days before deletion to identify abuse. The page and pricing FAQ state encryption in transit and AES-256 encryption for stored data; the 8am privacy policy is updated May 2026 and the 8am terms are updated August 2026. Pricing is published by tier: Basic, Pro and Advanced user-month plans, plus a Discovery Assistant page add-on. The pricing page says there is a 10-day no-cost trial and no long-term contract or setup fee. The AI page says outputs may be misleading or inaccurate and recommends review before use.

In the vendor's words

“Large Language Model (LLM) provided by OpenAI”
MyCase legal AI page
“MyCase IQ offerings do not train our own AI models.”
MyCase legal AI page
“OpenAI may securely store your data for up to 30 days”
MyCase legal AI page
“MyCase offers a 10 day no-cost trial”
MyCase pricing page

Not disclosed on public pages

"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.

Not published on the pages we read on 2026-09-06: DPA terms, sub-processor list, data-residency locations, seat minimum, SOC 2 for MyCase or 8am, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, SSO/SAML, private deployment and accuracy-testing method. Procurement or DPIA files would normally need those details for client confidentiality, SRA/ABA supervision, access control, and GDPR Art. 28 processor analysis.

Questions to put to the vendor

  1. Will 8am provide a DPA and sub-processor list covering OpenAI API processing for MyCase IQ?
  2. Where are MyCase IQ prompts, documents and OpenAI's 30-day abuse-monitoring copies stored?
  3. Which MyCase or 8am security reports, if any, cover MyCase IQ rather than OpenAI alone?
  4. What accuracy testing is run for document summaries, case Q&A and text-editing outputs?

Accuracy evidence

No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-03.

Related incidents

No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-03.

Ownership · Owned by AffiniPay (rebranding as 8am; also LawPay, CASEpeer, Docketwise). Security pages returned 404.

Sources

Report an issue with this record →

Cite this record

SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "MyCase IQ", safelegalai.com/tools/mycase-iq (last checked 2026-09-03, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.

What the vendor has announced, dated

  1. 8am adds 8am IQ Discovery Assistant and Case Assistant updates · Feature release

First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.

Also in Practice management AI

SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.

Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.