Legal Tech / E-discovery & investigations
OpenText eDiscovery Aviator
OpenText Corporation · HQ CA · founded 1991 · Last checked 2026-09-03
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
Generative-AI review and agent layer for OpenText eDiscovery (Axcelerate), calling Anthropic Claude via Amazon Bedrock with session-only data handling; available in all AWS regions.
Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.
- Category
- E-discovery & investigations · generative-AI review, agents, TAR, Axcelerate
- Built for
- Large firms, In-house legal, Courts
- Model providers (disclosed)
- Anthropic
- Data residency options
- all AWS regions
- Pricing
- enterprise
- Markets
- US, CANADA, EU
- Last checked
- 03 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
OpenText pages describe eDiscovery Aviator as a generative-AI review layer for OpenText eDiscovery and Axcelerate. The product page names Amazon Bedrock and Anthropic and states availability in all AWS regions. It says Bedrock does not store or log customer data, Anthropic has no access within Bedrock, prompts and outputs are not used to train models, and AWS Bedrock data is deleted when the LLM session closes. The 2025 DPA states audit rights and a 48-hour notice period for personal data breaches. The audit did not find a named OpenText subprocessor list or SOC 2, ISO 27001 or ISO 42001 statements for this product. Deployment language lists on-demand, multi-matter subscription and private cloud options. Public pages did not publish a list price, free trial, minimum term or seat minimum. The product page states 75% cost savings, 88% faster review and 90%+ recall, with no separate method found.
In the vendor's words
“The LLM provider (Anthropic)”
“Amazon Bedrock does not store or log customer data”
“Customer data, input prompts, and outputs are never used to train”
“except 48 hours for Personal Data Breaches”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
Not published on pages we read on 2026-09-06: named subprocessor list, terms update date, list price, free trial, minimum term, seat minimum, encryption-at-rest statement, SOC 2, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, SSO/SAML and accuracy method. A law-firm procurement or DPIA process normally needs these items for client confidentiality, hosted review controls, breach notice analysis, human review supervision and GDPR Art. 28 processor due diligence.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which AWS regions and Bedrock or Anthropic processing paths are used for each Axcelerate matter, and can a region be restricted?
- Where is OpenText's current named subprocessor list for eDiscovery Aviator?
- Does the DPA's 48-hour personal-data-breach notice run from awareness, detection or confirmation?
- What SOC 2 or ISO certificates cover eDiscovery Aviator, if any?
- What methodology supports the 90%+ recall claim?
- What list price, minimum term and seat or matter minimum apply?
Accuracy evidence
- vendor'90%+ recall with optimized workflows' (vendor) No methodology published.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-03.
Ownership · Public (NASDAQ/TSX: OTEX).
Sources
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "OpenText eDiscovery Aviator", safelegalai.com/tools/opentext-ediscovery-aviator (last checked 2026-09-03, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
What the vendor has announced, dated
- OpenText eDiscovery 26.3 adds Aviator Agents · Feature release
First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.
Also in E-discovery & investigations
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
