Skip to content

Legal Tech / E-discovery & investigations

Casepoint (CaseAssist)

Casepoint LLC · HQ US · founded 2008 · Last checked 2026-09-11

Visit website

Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.

Ediscovery and data-discovery platform with CaseAssist active learning and generative AI (RAG, citations, transparency logs); FedRAMP High and DoD IL5/IL6 authorised.

Category
E-discovery & investigations · government, TAR, generative AI, FOIA, investigations
Built for
Courts, Public sector, In-house legal, Large firms, Mid-sized firms
Model providers (disclosed)
Not disclosed
Data residency options
United States
Pricing
enterprise
Markets
US
Last checked
11 Sept 2026

What the vendor documents

Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.

No training on customer data
documented yessource
SOC 2
documented yessource
ISO 27001
documented yessource
ISO 42001
not disclosedsource
Zero retention with model providers
not disclosedsource
DPA offered
documented yessource
Private deployment
documented yessource

What the public documentation states

Casepoint's public pages describe an ediscovery and data-discovery platform for government, enterprise and legal teams, with CaseAssist and a generative-AI feature using retrieval-augmented generation to answer from customer data with citations. The audit did not find public model-provider names or a sub-processor list. Casepoint's standard terms say AI inputs and outputs are Customer Data and may not be used to improve products, analytics or AI training without customer approval. The same terms point to a DPA, state a 72-hour written breach notice and restrict Export-Controlled Data processing to the United States. Public pages state SaaS, on-prem or hybrid delivery, encryption at rest and in transit, FedRAMP High, DoD IL5/IL6, SOC 2 Type II and ISO/IEC 27001:2022. Casepoint IQ says it uses privately deployed LLMs. Pricing is described as tailored, with no list price or seat floor. Casepoint states RAG and transparency logs as its accuracy controls.

In the vendor's words

“Retrieval-Augmented Generation (RAG) to pull answers directly from your data”
Generative AI solution page
“without Customer approval, improve Casepoint products or services”
Standard Terms and Conditions
“notify Customer in writing within seventy-two hours”
Standard Terms and Conditions
“The Casepoint SOC 2 Type II report”
Data security page
“privately deployed LLMs”
Generative AI solution page

Not disclosed on public pages

"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.

Not published on the pages we read on 2026-09-11: model providers, sub-processor list, terms update date, free trial, list price, minimum term, seat floor, ISO 42001, SSO/SAML and zero-retention wording. Procurement and DPIA files normally need these details for client data mapping, GDPR Art. 28 processor terms, access control, privilege/confidentiality review and supervision of AI-assisted discovery.

Questions to put to the vendor

  1. Which model providers process CaseAssist or generative-AI prompts, and are any outside the United States for Export-Controlled Data?
  2. Can Casepoint provide its sub-processor list with regions and the DPA referenced in the standard terms?
  3. Does the 72-hour breach notice run from detection, confirmation or Casepoint's internal declaration of a Security Incident?
  4. What controls separate SaaS, on-prem and hybrid deployments for customer-managed environments?
  5. What data and reviewer process produce the transparency logs for RAG answers?

Accuracy evidence

No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-11.

Related incidents

No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-11.

Ownership · Private. Also FedRAMP Moderate, GovRAMP, CMMC Level 2, NIST 800-53/800-171, ISO 9001.

Sources

Report an issue with this record →

Cite this record

SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Casepoint (CaseAssist)", safelegalai.com/tools/casepoint (last checked 2026-09-11, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.

What the vendor has announced, dated

  1. Casepoint launches MCP Server · Product launch

First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.

Documented facts, side by side

Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.

Also in E-discovery & investigations

SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.

Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.