Skip to content

Legal Tech / E-discovery & investigations

Relativity aiR

Relativity ODA LLC · HQ US · founded 2001 · Last checked 2026-09-03

Visit website

Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.

Generative-AI review, privilege and case-strategy modules built into RelativityOne; prompt-criteria-driven document analysis using Azure OpenAI in regional Azure instances.

Category
E-discovery & investigations · generative-AI review, privilege review, case strategy, TAR
Built for
Large firms, Mid-sized firms, In-house legal, Courts
Model providers (disclosed)
OpenAI
Data residency options
US, EU
Pricing
enterprise · included at no additional cost with RelativityOne
Markets
US, EU, UK, AUSTRALIA
Last checked
03 Sept 2026

What the vendor documents

Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.

No training on customer data
documented yessource
SOC 2
documented yessource
ISO 27001
documented yessource
ISO 42001
not disclosedsource
Zero retention with model providers
documented yessource
DPA offered
not disclosedsource
Private deployment
not disclosedsource

What the public documentation states

Relativity's pages describe aiR for Review, aiR for Privilege and aiR for Case Strategy inside RelativityOne. The AI products help page names Microsoft Azure and model options "including GPT-4o, GPT-4.1 mini, GPT-5 mini, GPT-5.1, and GPT-5.2." It says customer data is not used to train or improve third-party models or services. The same page states that processing regions vary by product and capability and lists the United States, EU Data Boundary, Switzerland, Australia, Canada, Japan and India. Relativity's compliance page states SOC 2 Type II, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, HIPAA and FedRAMP Class C. The pricing page says RelativityOne includes Relativity aiR at no additional cost and offers pay-as-you-go or one- or three-year commitments. For accuracy, the aiR page says citations and rationales reduce hallucination risk and refers to measuring recall, precision and elusion metrics. Public DPA and sub-processor URLs returned 404 pages during the audit.

In the vendor's words

“including GPT-4o, GPT-4.1 mini, GPT-5 mini, GPT-5.1, and GPT-5.2”
AI products and features help page
“not used to train or improve third party models or services”
AI products and features help page
“Processing regions vary by product and capability”
AI products and features help page
“measuring recall, precision, and elusion metrics”
Relativity aiR page

Not disclosed on public pages

"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.

Not published on the pages we read on 2026-09-06: public DPA, sub-processor list, free trial, seat minimum, ISO 42001, private deployment terms, and zero-retention terms for AI processing. Law-firm procurement and DPIA review normally need those points to map processor obligations, cross-border transfers, confidentiality controls, access models, and human review duties for document coding and privilege calls.

Questions to put to the vendor

  1. Which listed Azure model option is used for each aiR feature, and can a customer select or restrict models?
  2. Can Relativity provide the DPA and current sub-processor list because the public URLs returned 404 pages?
  3. Which processing regions apply to aiR for Review, aiR for Privilege, and aiR for Case Strategy for UK data?
  4. Do aiR prompts or outputs have any zero-retention commitment separate from the no-third-party-training statement?
  5. What validation reports support recall, precision, and elusion metrics for a customer's review protocol?

Accuracy evidence

Related incidents

No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-03.

Ownership · Private; Silver Lake majority stake (2021). Also FedRAMP (RelativityOne Government), ISO 27018, IRAP Protected.

Sources

Report an issue with this record →

Cite this record

SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Relativity aiR", safelegalai.com/tools/relativity-air (last checked 2026-09-03, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.

What the vendor has announced, dated

  1. RelativityOne integrates with Microsoft Copilot · Integration
  2. RelativityOne integrates with Gemini Enterprise for Legal · Integration
  3. Rel Labs invests in Newcode · Funding as announced
  4. Relativity launches claiR advanced access · Product launch
  5. Custom analyses introduced in aiR for Review · Feature release
  6. CDS adds aiR Assist · Partnership
  7. Page One adds custom analyses · Partnership
  8. Avalon expands Relativity AI partnership · Partnership
  9. aiR Assist reaches general availability · Product launch
  10. Array adds aiR Assist · Partnership

First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.

Documented facts, side by side

Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.

Also in E-discovery & investigations

SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.

Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.