Legal Tech / Transcription & depositions
Rev (Legal)
Rev.com, Inc. · HQ US · Last checked 2026-09-03
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
AI-plus-human transcription with legal, court-reporting and law-enforcement offerings; CJIS and HIPAA options. Terms allow customer content to train Rev's proprietary ASR but not generative models.
- Category
- Transcription & depositions · legal transcription, court reporting, law-enforcement transcription, AI transcription
- Built for
- Small firms & solos, Mid-sized firms, Courts
- Model providers (disclosed)
- own
- Data residency options
- US
- Pricing
- usage · $25.49/seat/month annual; $29.99 monthly; Legal Rough $2.25/page; Legal Premium $2.50/page
- Markets
- US
- Last checked
- 03 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
Rev's public pages describe legal transcription, court-reporting and law-enforcement transcription services. The pricing page publishes subscription prices of $25.49 per seat per month annually or $29.99 monthly, Legal Rough Draft at $2.25 per page, Legal Premium Transcript at $2.50 per page, free access, a free trial, cancellation at any time for subscriptions, and seat minimums of three for Essentials and five for Pro. The legal transcription page states "99.7%+ accuracy" for Legal Premium Transcript and refers to multiple QC steps. Rev's DPA was last updated on 4 August 2026. It states that customers authorize listed sub-processors; the audit records 15 additional sub-processors and names OpenAI, Anthropic, Fireworks.ai and Speechmatics as model-related providers. The security page states SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, SAML 2.0 SSO and Amazon S3 server-side encryption. The security page says Rev is never training external LLMs on customer data, while the terms updated 15 May 2026 say speech-to-text customer content may train Rev's proprietary ASR and other Rev AI models, not generative AI models.
In the vendor's words
“never training external LLMs on your data”
“Customer has authorised the use of the following Subprocessors”
“Legal Rough Draft at $2.25/page and Legal Premium Transcript at $2.50/page”
“99.7%+ accuracy”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
Not published on the pages we read on 2026-09-06: data-residency locations, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, private deployment terms, and zero-retention terms. Procurement and DPIA review normally need these points to map cross-border transfers, confidentiality controls, client data retention, processor obligations, and lawyer supervision of AI or human transcription work product.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which sub-processors, including OpenAI, Anthropic, Fireworks.ai and Speechmatics, process legal transcript content and in which regions?
- Can customers opt out of Rev proprietary ASR or AI model training for legal transcription data?
- What retention period and deletion workflow apply to audio, transcripts, captions, and legal work product?
- What test set and QC process support the 99.7%+ Legal Premium Transcript accuracy statement?
- What data-residency options are available for HIPAA, CJIS, law-enforcement, or court-reporting customers?
Accuracy evidence
No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-03.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-03.
Ownership · Security page says content is never used to train external AI models; terms permit continuous training of Rev's own ASR models.
Sources
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Rev (Legal)", safelegalai.com/tools/rev-legal (last checked 2026-09-03, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
Documented facts, side by side
Facts from both vendors' pages in one table; never a ranking. All comparisons.
Also in Transcription & depositions
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
