Legal Tech / Practice management AI
Smokeball Archie
Smokeball · HQ US · founded 2013 · Last checked 2026-09-03
Last checked = the date we last re-opened the vendor's published pages. Facts are what the vendor documents, not what it claims in marketing.
AI matter assistant embedded in Smokeball, Word and Outlook; moved from RAG to agentic multi-step reasoning in July 2026 with a user-selectable model (OpenAI, Anthropic, Google).
Provisional entry: fewer than four governance facts are sourced yet. It is excluded from search indexes until verified.
- Category
- Practice management AI · matter assistant, agentic AI, drafting, Word and Outlook add-in, legal research via LawY/CoCounsel
- Built for
- Small firms & solos, Mid-sized firms
- Model providers (disclosed)
- OpenAI, Anthropic, Google
- Data residency options
- UK, US, AU
- Pricing
- per-seat
- Markets
- US, AUSTRALIA, UK
- Last checked
- 03 Sept 2026
What the vendor documents
Recorded from the vendor's own trust, privacy and terms pages. "Not disclosed" means we found no public statement, not that the control is absent.
What the public documentation states
Smokeball's Archie page describes an AI matter assistant available inside Smokeball and embedded in the Word sidebar. It says Archie can answer questions, draft replies and run reviews while using matter context. The Archie page states that every finding cites its source and ambiguous items are flagged; the audit treated that as the published accuracy method, not as a measured accuracy rate. The same page states enterprise-grade zero-data-retention agreements and says data is never shared with third parties for viewing, training or AI modelling. Smokeball's security page, last updated 07/09/2026, states ISO 27001 certification, annual penetration testing, encryption for data in transit and at rest, AES-256 for sensitive data and no third-party AI model training. The pricing page says pricing depends on user count, selected plan and contract term, but the audit found no list price or seat minimum.
In the vendor's words
“Every finding cites its source and anything ambiguous gets flagged”
“enterprise-grade zero-data-retention agreements”
“Smokeball does not provide customer data to third parties for AI model training”
“ISO 27001 certified organization”
Not disclosed on public pages
"Not disclosed" records that no public statement was found where we looked, on the date shown. It does not assert that the control, term or figure is absent.
Not published on the pages we read on 2026-09-06: named model providers, subprocessors, DPA, data residency, SOC 2, ISO 42001, private deployment, SSO, list price and seat minimum. Procurement and DPIA reviewers normally need those points to map client matter data flows, review GDPR Article 28 subprocessors, confirm hosting choices, test supervision of drafted work and compare contract cost assumptions.
Questions to put to the vendor
- Which model providers run Archie prompts and reviews, and do all of them operate under the zero-data-retention agreements described on the Archie page?
- Which subprocessors process matter documents, email content, Word content and generated Archie outputs?
- Where is Archie data stored and processed for US, UK and Australian customers?
- Is a DPA available that covers Archie, LawY or CoCounsel research integrations and subprocessor changes?
- What test set or review process supports the source-citation and ambiguity-flagging accuracy method?
Accuracy evidence
No published accuracy or hallucination evaluation found as of 2026-09-03.
Related incidents
No incidents are recorded for this tool as of 2026-09-03.
Ownership · Private. Security page states customer data is not provided to third parties for AI training; own-model training not addressed. Cites AWS SOC reports rather than its own.
Sources
Report an issue with this record →
Cite this record
SafeLegalAI Legal Tech Tools, "Smokeball Archie", safelegalai.com/tools/smokeball-archie (last checked 2026-09-03, accessed 2026-10-07). Data: CC BY 4.0.
What the vendor has announced, dated
- Smokeball adds Archie AI for Word · Feature release
First-party statements from the vendor's own pages, as dated; "announced" is not "in use today". This month across all vendors · release timeline.
Also in Practice management AI
SafeLegalAI is a research publication, not a law firm. Nothing here is legal advice, and no lawyer–client relationship arises from reading it. Rules change; always check the official document linked on each record and take advice on your own situation. Researched and drafted with AI assistance; verified against primary sources and edited by SafeLegalAI. The linked official documents are the record — our summaries are not the law and are not legal advice.
Vendor, product, court and regulator names and logos are the property of their respective owners and are used solely to identify the product, body or document referred to; SafeLegalAI claims no rights in them. SafeLegalAI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by or approved by any listed vendor, except where a record is labelled an affiliated product. Facts are recorded from vendors' published pages on the date shown; "not disclosed" means not found on the pages read, not that the vendor lacks it. No ranking, rating, review, recommendation or warranty is implied. Mark owners who prefer a text-only reference, and vendors seeking a correction, may write to the report page. Trade mark and quotation policy.
